Duluth Newswire

Duluth Newswire

Comprehensive Real-Time News Feed for Duluth, MN.

Results 1 - 17 of 17 for "u:opednews.com" in Duluth, MN

  1. The Great Shift and the Hebrew BibleRead the original story w/Photo

    Monday Jan 15 | OpEdNews

    Duluth, Minnesota January 15, 2018: The American Jesuit polymath Walter J. Ong devoted much of his mature scholarly life to writing about the great shift that the prolific biblical scholar James L. Kugel , in effect, writes about in his new book The Great Shift: Encountering God in Biblical Times . Kugel's accessible book includes detailed scholarly notes , a bibliography of works cited , a subject index , and a very useful index of verses cited .

    Comment?

  2. Senator Al Franken of Minnesota to ResignRead the original story w/Photo

    Dec 8, 2017 | OpEdNews

    Duluth, Minnesota December 8, 2017: The allegations of sexual misconduct made against Bill Clinton, himself a sex addict who admired the sex addict President John F. Kennedy, strike me as far more serious than the allegations of sexual misconduct made against the celebrity playboy Donald Trump. But I recognize that certain people may not agree with me about this estimate of the allegations made against each man.

    Comment?

  3. A Reply to Stephen Marche's NYT Op-EdRead the original story w/Photo

    Nov 26, 2017 | OpEdNews

    Duluth, Minnesota November 26, 2017: The Canadian commentator Stephen Marche , the author of the book The Unmade Bed: The Messy Truth about Men and Women in the 21st Century , has published a provocative op-ed in the New York Times online titled "The Unexamined Brutality of the Male Libido" . As you may have guessed by now, Marche's op-ed commentary was prompted by the tsunami of reports about prominent and powerful American men being accused of various kinds of sexual misconduct -- from groping to rape.

    Comment?

  4. You Are Suffering from Complex PTSDRead the original story w/Photo

    Nov 4, 2017 | OpEdNews

    Duluth, Minnesota November 4, 2017: Pete Walker's 370-page self-help book Complex PTSD: From Surviving to Thriving is designed to be accessible in the tradition of Alice Miller's books and John Bradshaw's books on childhood traumatization. I found Pete Walker's 2013 book massively informative and admirably clear, and I suspect that many OEN readers would also find it informative.

    Comment?

  5. Revisiting and Questioning Trump's Boasting to Billy Bush in 2005Read the original story w/Photo

    Oct 7, 2017 | OpEdNews

    Duluth, Minnesota October 7, 2017: On October 8, 2016, the Washington Post released previously unaired footage of Donald Trump, the Republican Party's 2016 presidential candidate, speaking in 2005 with Billy Bush of "Access Hollywood." After the Washington Post released the footage of Trump boasting to Billy Bush, Trump's political surrogates claimed that he was engaging in "locker-room talk" -- thereby impugning locker-room talk.

    Comment?

  6. Feeling Enraged and Practicing Non-ViolenceRead the original story w/Photo

    Sep 24, 2017 | OpEdNews

    Duluth, Minnesota September 24, 2017: The classicist Emily Katz Anhalt's new book Enraged: Why Violent Times Need Ancient Greek Myths is a remarkably accessible and deeply informed discussion of rage and violence portrayed in Achilles' famous rage in the Homeric epic the Iliad in considerable detail , but she also discusses rage in Sophocles' play Ajax and rage in Euripides' play Hecuba . Her book includes bibliographic and wide-ranging discussion notes , a bibliography of important classical scholarly works , and an index .

    Comment?

  7. A Jungian Profile of TrumpRead the original story w/Photo

    Aug 26, 2017 | OpEdNews

    Duluth, Minnesota August 26, 2017: The Jungian psychotherapist and theorist Robert Louis Moore worked out an elaborate Jungian account of what he refers to as the four archetypes of masculine maturity. In at least four of his books, he also claims that there are also four archetypes of feminine maturity.

    Comment?

  8. Mark Lilla's Polemic about Identity Politics in the Democratic Party is TimelyRead the original story w/Photo

    Aug 16, 2017 | OpEdNews

    Duluth, Minnesota August 16, 2017: In his new book The Once and Future Liberal: After Identity Politics , the political scientist Mark Lilla of Columbia University claims that he is himself a liberal, but he vigorously critiques identity politics in the Democratic Party. For him as a liberal in the Democratic Party, the New Deal hammered out under President Franklin D. Roosevelt represents the kind of liberalism that he would like to see the Democratic Party today represent.

    Comment?

  9. A Controversy in American Catholic CirclesRead the original story w/Photo

    Aug 5, 2017 | OpEdNews

    Duluth, Minnesota August 5, 2017: As OEN readers know, white Christians, including both certain conservative American Catholics and American Protestant Evangelicals, contributed significantly to Donald J. Trump's decisive electoral victory in the 2016 presidential election. Now, Jason Horowitz, the Rome bureau chief of the New York Times , published a news story in the Times online titled "A Vatican Shot Across the Bow for Hard-Line U.S. Catholics" .

    Comment?

  10. Why Aren't More Women C.E.O.s at Fortune 500 Companies?Read the original story w/Photo

    Jul 24, 2017 | OpEdNews

    Duluth, Minnesota July 24, 2017: In the Sunday Review section of the New York Times , Susan Chira, the feminist editor on gender issues, has a lengthy article on "Why Women Aren't C.E.O.s" . I don't know if she wrote the title of her article.

    Comment?

  11. Western Cultural History: Trump's superficial view vs. Ong's in-depth accountRead the original story w/Photo

    Jul 17, 2017 | OpEdNews

    Duluth, Minnesota July 17, 2017: My favorite scholar is the American Jesuit cultural historian and theorist Walter J. Ong of Saint Louis University, the Jesuit university in St. Louis, Missouri. Several years ago, I published an article about Ong's thought titled "The West Versus the Rest: Getting Our Cultural Bearings from Walter J. Ong" in the journal Explorations in Media Ecology , volume 7, number 4 : pp.

    Comment?

  12. Commemorating the Watergate break in on June 17, 1972Read the original story w/Photo

    Jun 18, 2017 | OpEdNews

    Duluth, Minnesota June 18, 2017: In the wee hours of the morning of June 17, 1972, there was a break in at the then-new Watergate office and hotel complex in Washington, D.C. The five well-dressed burglars were apprehended by plainclothes D.C. cops at the offices of the Democratic National Committee . The suspects broke into the DNC offices to replace the faulty bugging equipment installed in the offices about two weeks earlier.

    Comment?

  13. Kleinian Theory and Trump VotersRead the original story w/Photo

    May 23, 2017 | OpEdNews

    Duluth, Minnesota May 23, 2017: My favorite scholar is the American Jesuit cultural historian and theorist Walter J. Ong of Saint Louis University, the Jesuit university in St. Louis, Missouri. Thomas M. Walsh has compiled a complete bibliography of Ong's 400 or so publications, including information about reprinted and translated items, in "Walter J. Ong, S.J.: A Bibliography 1929-2006" in the book Language, Culture, and Identity: The Legacy of Walter J. Ong, S.J. , edited by Sara van den Berg and Walsh .

    Comment?

  14. Will the "Political Correctness" Crowd Ever Change Their Tune?Read the original story w/Photo

    Apr 25, 2017 | OpEdNews

    Duluth, Minnesota April 25, 2017: Over the last half century or so, the "political correctness" crowd has provided a target for conservatives to attack. In the 2016 presidential election, Donald J. Trump, the Republican Party's candidate, effectively campaigned against "political correctness."

    Comment?

  15. Our Dionysian Crucible and Trump's White Christian VotersRead the original story w/Photo

    Apr 13, 2017 | OpEdNews

    Duluth, Minnesota April 13, 2017: In the new book The Dionysian Gospel: The Fourth Gospel and Euripides , the American biblical scholar Dennis R. MacDonald explores how the anonymous author of the Fourth Gospel may have been drawing on and competing with Euripides' Bacchae . In Appendix 2 , MacDonald helpfully provides his own original translation of sections of Euripides' play that are most relevant to the Fourth Gospel.

    Comment?

  16. Camille Paglia's New Book Is TimelyRead the original story w/Photo

    Mar 24, 2017 | OpEdNews

    Duluth, Minnesota March 24, 2017: With so-called President Trump now deliberately shaking up American culture in ways not endorsed by second-wave feminist zealots, the openly lesbian atheist Camille Paglia of the University of the Arts in Philadelphia has now published a wide range of her previously published polemics in her hefty new 340-page book Free Women, Free Men: Sex, Gender, Feminism to help him shake up American culture under the influence of second-wave feminist zealotry. In my estimate, Camille Paglia, unlike Trump, has set forth a coherent framework of thought, as I hope to delineate in the present review essay.

    Comment?

  17. How Women Polarized American PoliticsRead the original story w/Photo

    Mar 13, 2017 | OpEdNews

    Duluth, Minnesota March 13, 2017: In the new book Divided We Stand: The Battle Over Women's Rights and Family Values That Polarized American Politics , Marjorie J. Spruill in history at the University of South Carolina, who has authored or edited six previous books, centers her attention on the two competing women's conferences held in Houston over the weekend of November 18-21, 1977. Even though Spruill includes photographs of a number of women, photos of women involved in the pro-feminist conference decidedly outnumber photos of women in the conservative anti-feminist conference.

    Comment?

Duluth Job Listings
View or post Duluth job listings on Topix.
Duluth Real Estate
News, listings, and foreclosures in Duluth from Topix.
Duluth Mortgages
Find mortgage rates in Duluth on Topix.