Has Barry Inspired You?
JeannieC

Phoenix, AZ

#1 Jul 26, 2011
Just wondering if any of you out there were ever inspired by Barry's music or interviews? I was ...
I am an artist also, but not a singer/musician - oh, no! Can't hold a tune for crap! I am a glass artist, mostly making unique glass beads and jewelry items (but hoping to expand to sculptures and blown items soon!)
Anyway, I was always fascinated with glass and glass artists, but didn't actually discover my passion and artistic talent with glass until I was almost 40, a few years ago now.
I had a steady, well-paying "job" but my passion for glass was so intense and it was in my head constantly whenever I was not actually on the torch and creating.
I would listen to Barry's music often while torching and found it calming but also an inspiration for my creativity. And, I don't remember when I heard this, maybe an interview or something, but Barry was speaking about his love of music and how people really need to follow their passion to be truly happy in life.
This just stuck in my head and for months, maybe even a year or so, it kept popping up with full force, most of the time when I was on the torch. And after many these months of his words rattling around my brain, along with his inspiring music, I finally left my extremely stressful management position and jumped into my passion full time.
I can't say it's been easy. It's been just over 2 years now and I can't say that my "passion" is all that fruitful in the finance department. But, as for the life I am living now, and doing what I just love doing, I am the happiest I have ever been.
So, I would like to send a HUGE hug and a BIG "thank you" to Barry Manilow for planting that seed in me and giving me the confidence to make my passion a reality!
deby

Winchester, VA

#2 Jul 26, 2011
Good for you. Can't say Barry has done that for me but he definitly stands by that belief. I love blown glass seems it's almost a lost art.
stage name - SPIKEMELON