Atheism requires as much faith as rel...

Atheism requires as much faith as religion?

There are 255504 comments on the Webbunny tumblelog story from Jul 18, 2009, titled Atheism requires as much faith as religion?. In it, Webbunny tumblelog reports that:

Atheism requires as much faith as religion? bearvspuma : The only problem with this rationalization is that ita s assuming all athiests are so because theya re intelligent in the ways of science and reasoning and all people that believe in a form of god are unintelligent.

Join the discussion below, or Read more at Webbunny tumblelog.

“Think&Care”

Since: Oct 07

Location hidden

#173705 Aug 7, 2013
Bob of Quantum-Faith wrote:
<quoted text>
True.
But even those super computers must be programmed-- using the correct maths.
And making a computer do calculus? Isn't as easy as it is teaching your average human.
:)
I know-- I learned calculus back in the day, and I have programmed computers too-- I was a programmer for 17 years, in fact.
On the other hand, doing the multiple-sum simulations, which would take a human days or years, it a matter of seconds or at worst, minutes on a super computer, so...
Fortunately, most of the cross sections are well known. The basic physics is also well known. Getting the computers to do math is usually done by either Kutta-Runge for differential equations or some quadrature method for simple integration. Differentiation tends to be avoided: too many ways for round-off errors to propagate. Modern computers do these calculation very quickly (for the most part). A full three dimensional model requires a lot more time, but not a significant amount more programming, although various finite element methods help that also.
Imhotep

Deltona, FL

#173706 Aug 7, 2013
<quoted text>
You forgot to add that I escaped on camelback...
LOL

Speaking of escape...
'It ain't necessarily so'(IANS) has vanished from the forums. I miss the good old doc in Mexico have you heard from him?
Imhotep

Deltona, FL