No

Don't know

Possibly

Since: Aug 11

Location hidden

#3385 Mar 26, 2013
Kev wrote:
<quoted text>
I studied engineering at M.I.T. and at A&M. I do know what I am talking about and so do other engineers from top ranking schools and even the military. In the 9/11 commission report they said that the fuel heated up and weakened the steal and collapsed the buildings. Fact there were nano particals of explosives and thermite found in air sample from ground zero. Do I have to explain to you how thermite works? Again buildings cant and never can fall faster than gravity unless there are explosives involved.
The towers were 1350 and 1360 feet tall. So let's start by using our trusty free-fall equation to see how long it should take an object to free-fall from the towers' former height.
Distance = 1/2 x Gravity x Time(squared)
or
2 x Distance = Gravity x Time(squared)
Time(squared)=(2 x Distance)/ Gravity
Time(squared)= 2710 / 32 = 84.7
Time = 9.2
So our equation tells us that it will take 9.2 seconds to free-fall to the ground from the towers' former height.
Using our simpler equation, V = GT, we can see that at 9.2 seconds, in order to reach the ground in 9.2 seconds, the free-falling object's velocity must be about 295 ft/sec, which is just over 200 mph.
But that can only occur in a vacuum.
Since the WTC was at sea level, in Earth's atmosphere, you might be able to imagine how much air resistance that represents.(Think about putting your arm out the window of a car moving half that fast!) Most free-falling objects would reach their terminal velocity long before they reached 200 mph. For example, the commonly-accepted terminal velocity of a free-falling human is around 120 mph. The terminal velocity of a free-falling cat is around 60 mph.(source)
Therefore, air resistance alone will make it take longer than 10 seconds for gravity to pull an object to the ground from the towers' former height.