What Your Church Won't Tell You by Da...

Since: Aug 11

Location hidden

#31852 Jul 12, 2013
Scroll button time again.
Saban fan

Decatur, AL

#31853 Jul 12, 2013
proofsinthepuddin wrote:
<quoted text>
Well, where do I start. I also go to a Baptist Church and attended a Baptist Seminary where I earned a post graduate level degree. I have to say that I have never been in a Baptist Church that held DOCTRINAL beliefs of election. There are some Baptist that say they are somewhat Calvinistic but no true baptist would claim to be a five point Calvinist. I have issues personally with eternal salvation. Dont get me wrong, through a grammatical-historical interpretation I do believe that our salvation in Christ is secure. My main problem with the baptist and honestly all denominations is that they are always going to seed over narrow passages of theology. If it is not a black and white fundamental of what it takes to be saved and become a member of the Body of Christ then all of the rest is just preference. We should stand together on those fundamentals and unite, instead of splitting up into our little comfort groups we call denominations. I admire you and your brother for going out and discerning these things for yoursellves but I urge you to unite instead of debating. Blessings!
If, as you mention, we belong to the Body of Christ when we become Christians, why would this Body of Christ be named Baptist?

How does the name “Baptist” bring glory to Christ (Acts 4:12)?
Acts 4:12
12 And in none other is there salvation: for neither is there any other name under heaven, that is given among men, wherein we must be saved.
Gary

Buffalo, NY

#31854 Jul 12, 2013
Hi Saban:

Yes, I agree with you that it would be much better to just keep it to a few verses at a time with a question so we can bring down any confusion when there is to much on the plate so to speak.

Concerning your question to the church of Laodicea were these members members of the church of Jesus?