WI legislators circulate 7-day work w...

WI legislators circulate 7-day work week bill

There are 3 comments on the WTMJ-AM Milwaukee story from Jan 12, 2014, titled WI legislators circulate 7-day work week bill. In it, WTMJ-AM Milwaukee reports that:

Wisconsin manufacturing and retail workers could volunteer to work seven days straight without a day off under a bill two Republican lawmakers are circulating on behalf of the state's largest business group.

Join the discussion below, or Read more at WTMJ-AM Milwaukee.

Sandi

Beaver Dam, WI

#1 Jan 13, 2014
I don't see anything wrong with that. I'm not so sure about the permanency of this idea for each employee. After so many days of working a person's bound to be exhausted. NOT a good idea for people working in manufacturing.

And, what about overtime pay? I still believe in being paid time and 1/2 after 40 hours and double time and 1/2 on holidays. Sadly I used to work in a factory (20+ years ago) and I would work every moment that I could. That's how I bought my first house for my son and me. He says now that he didn't feel neglected. Whether he's telling me the truth or not I don't know.

Finally, all too often employers are finding ways of getting around paying less than what is lawful. Later in life I worked for a plumbing contractor. I often worked late, extra days etc. I NEVER was paid for over-time. Instead I was 'granted' time off. But that was an employer who if investigated could be charged with a multitude of illegal activities. From sexual harrassment up to tax evasion.
mea

Hebron, IL

#2 Jan 14, 2014
The point here is that business really doesn't want to increase their workforce. They would just rather get the work accomplished with the people that they have currently on staff.

It is expensive to hire and train people. And the government doesn't make taking on new hires any less expensive either.