Life on oil rig hard but lucrative

Apr 15, 2012 Full story: Desert Sun 201

CARRIZO SPRINGS, Texas - A few years ago, Frankie Gonzalez was working marginal jobs and running with the wrong crowd in his small South Texas hometown of San Diego.

Read more
bigbossman

Luling, TX

#72 May 27, 2012
Shine my boots boy and make it snappy!
Just Saying

Rockport, TX

#73 May 27, 2012
Winner wrote:
When the world runs out of oil, 18th century technology will be what we'll all have to learn to use. Some may think it stupid to perform manual labor. I think it will pay long term dividends. I'm a professional in the medical field, but I don't shy away from hard work. In fact, I actively seek it out.
If we suddenly went back to 18th century, even over a prolonged period of time, most of us would die, as 18th century technology can not even come close to supporting today's population.
Ian

Edmonton, Canada

#77 Jan 10, 2013
Idiots like you try working the rigs and get skidded every day... The rigs are a respectfull career choice if you can handle it.
Not everyone out there has higher education or even a deploma but everybody out there makes more money in a month than a typical desk junkie like you.
It a hard job with real rewards some people can do it many can't, don't knock it till you try it
Thanks
By the way good job guys and girls currently rigging keep on keepin on!
doodley squat

San Antonio, TX

#78 Jan 10, 2013
STFU!
door king

Corpus Christi, TX

#79 Jan 10, 2013
no habla english wrote:
They have to bring people from other states cause the Mexicans don't know how to do anything unless you hold their hand. They are scared to make even the smallest decision for fear they might get blamed when something goes wrong. Mexicans can't handle responsibility.
The Mexicans know how to drill for oil. Thousands of them work in the Mexican patch. Every hear of PEMEX?
stud driller

San Antonio, TX

#81 Jan 10, 2013