Oil in North Dakota Brings Job Boom a...

Oil in North Dakota Brings Job Boom and Burdens

There are 81 comments on the www.nytimes.com story from Jan 1, 2008, titled Oil in North Dakota Brings Job Boom and Burdens . In it, www.nytimes.com reports that:

New York Times At dawn, people from faraway states huddle outside the Mountrail County courthouse here, the coldest ones leaving briefcases and books to secure their spots for the moment it opens.

Join the discussion below, or Read more at www.nytimes.com.

JPC

Marietta, OK

#69 Dec 9, 2011
Hello everyone,
I have been hauling crude for many years in Oklahoma and am considering going to ND to work a few years. What are the expericenced crude haulers making? I am hearing $32-35hr +overtime plus camp housing and benefits. Is this true? In OK we are averaging about $1500 a week. Sounds like I could double my income.
Luci

Saint Cloud, FL

#70 Dec 10, 2011
Just wondering if anyone has any info on any of the oil companies hiring in ND for first timers? My husband and I are looking for a change in scenery and better pay. Mostly to get out of Florida. Can't find a decent job here.

Thanks.
Van Hooker

United States

#71 Dec 22, 2011
JPC wrote:
Hello everyone,
I have been hauling crude for many years in Oklahoma and am considering going to ND to work a few years. What are the expericenced crude haulers making? I am hearing $32-35hr +overtime plus camp housing and benefits. Is this true? In OK we are averaging about $1500 a week. Sounds like I could double my income.
A truck driver should be taking home at least $2000 a week in the ND oilfields.
mymanisinstanley

Saint Paul, MN

#72 Jan 22, 2012