5 Eyewitness News Investigates Teache...

5 Eyewitness News Investigates Teacher Absenteeism in Minn.

There are 2 comments on the KSTP story from Nov 15, 2013, titled 5 Eyewitness News Investigates Teacher Absenteeism in Minn.. In it, KSTP reports that:

A recent report found about two out of every five Minnesota teachers missed more than ten days in a single school year, and their absence could be taking a toll on your student.

Join the discussion below, or Read more at KSTP.

MN Teacher

Hastings, MN

#1 Nov 15, 2013
Hello,
As a Minnesota teacher I am truly disappointed in the news story that was ran about teacher absenteeism. I respect that KSTP has an interest in investigating an important issue such as the impact of absenteeism on students, however this story was in poor taste.

It is inappropriate to run a story that is based off of inaccurate and inconsistent data (even if this is admitted by the journalists). The problem lies with the promo ads KSTP ran multiple times during your prime time tv lineup prior to the airing of the story. The promos gave the impression that MN teachers were doing something wrong. The promos had no mentioning of flawed data, like was mentioned at the end of the news story. It seems as though KSTP ran a negative inaccurate promo simply to get high ratings. This is especially disappointing because thousands of viewers only saw the promos and not the actual story because the story didn't run until 10:30pm. I feel that thousands of viewers were then given an inaccurate preview of the story. Most of these viewers went to bed before your story aired and now have the idea that your investigators caught MN teachers doing something wrong.