Fairhaven Residents Tortured By Wind ...

Fairhaven Residents Tortured By Wind Turbines Treated Like Inmates

Posted in the Massachusetts Forum

Jack Kelly

Jamestown, RI

#1 May 23, 2013
Fairhaven Massachusetts

http://www.southcoasttoday.com/apps/pbcs.dll/...

Letter: Fairhaven turbines need to be shut down
May 23, 2013 12:00 AM
Fairhaven turbines
need to be shut down

As a Fairhaven resident, I can truthfully say this is the first time that I agree with former Fairhaven selectmen Chairman Brian K. Bowcock. Mr. Bowcock was asked what he would do if the two Fairhaven wind turbines were not in compliance with the Massachusetts state 10-decibel limit on noise levels. He stated (Advocate, March 14), "I will shut them down. That would be immediate. That's not a debatable issue." This is a compelling statement coming from a former selectman who was instrumental in bringing the turbines to town.

Well, at the May 21 Fairhaven Board Of Health Meeting, DEP Deputy Commissioner Martin Suuberg stated that the turbines were in fact in violation of noise levels.(Violation dates were 11/9, 3/20, 4/2 and 4/12). All three developers were in attendance Sumul Shah, Gordon Deane and James Sweeney and in my opinion looking very worried, as well as they should be.

The town voted to accept these turbines after these developers assured us there would be no ill effects. This obviously is not the case, especially after hearing the many heartfelt testimonials from the residents negatively affected. Emotions ran high as residents spoke of how their children were negatively affected. Now there is legitimate testing evidence to validate what has been going on. The turbines are too noisy.