Gay marriage

Gay marriage

There are 61391 comments on the Los Angeles Times story from Mar 28, 2013, titled Gay marriage. In it, Los Angeles Times reports that:

The U.S. Supreme Court is considering two controversial cases involving whether same-sex couples have a constitutional right to marry: Proposition 8, California's 2008 ban on gay marriage, and the Defense of Marriage Act, which since 1996 has defined marriage for federal purposes as a union between a man and a woman.

Join the discussion below, or Read more at Los Angeles Times.

“No Headline available”

Since: Jan 08

Defiance, Ohio

#9410 Nov 17, 2013
garylloyd wrote:
My point was, you're a classic forum character -- a high school drop out who memorizes LGBT cliches to joins the conversation.
Thank you, for that mindless assumption. Do you know what is said to happen of those who assume?
I am a college graduate, and I don't require talking points. I am perfectly capable of reading the US Constitution, and the decisions of Federal Courts, Appellate Courts, and the US Supreme Court, upon which I base my opinions and support my arguments.
garylloyd wrote:
Everything you write has been repeated here a thousand times by boobs just like you. Why should anyone take you seriously when you don't invest the time to formulate your own arguments?
The reason the arguments have been made a thousand times, is because they are valid.

the reality is that gay marriage will come to pass because the US Constitution requires that states provide equal protection to all persons within their jurisdiction. Marriage is a protection of the law in every state in the union, and there is no compelling state interest which would justify the exclusion of same sex couples from equal protection of the law to marry.