401k returns nothing, so how to save for retirement.

Posted in the 401K Forum

jpercos

Lake Zurich, IL

#1 Jul 23, 2011
You know all those retirement calculators use some average rate of return around 6-8% over the long run. In the late 90's they assumed 10%.

Yet I've been investing in my 401K for about 12 years and pretty much have only what I put in, meaning I'm averaging close to nothing. I'm a third of the way through my career and don't see any way possible to grow my retirement money.

Nothing but doom and gloom on the horizon.
I've never worked for a company that gives a pension.
I'll probably get limited Social security, and they plan to raise the age for eligibility.
I'm also likely not to have a job later in my career due to layoffs for 50+ people, then its hard to find a job due to age discrimination. There are many reasons 50+ age group don't find jobs, but one reason people don't discuss much is many small/mid company's won't hire many mature workers over 50 since they are more likely to have health problems and drive up health costs.
Yet we are told to plan on working until we are 70, but that doesn't seem possible for most.

And all the retirement calculators assume the market will keep going up and it has not. I mean 2009 ended the worst financial decade in history. Then 2010 ended the worst 11 consecutive years in stock market history. Now instead of rebounding, I think we will have the worst 12 years ending 2011.

I'll need another lifetime to make up for all that, and even if I got it, I still probably couldn't make up for it.

What do you guys think about all that? Don't you feel absolutely hopeless for your financial future?

“Tesla”

Since: Jul 11

Los Altos Hills, CA

#2 Jul 23, 2011
Should have worked for a company that matches your 401k.
jpercos

Lake Zurich, IL

#3 Jul 24, 2011
Dr Moonshine wrote:
Should have worked for a company that matches your 401k.