California seeks to ban free, single-use carryout bags in retail

Jun 5, 2010 Full story: Chain Store Age 5,117

New York City The California State Assembly on Wednesday narrowly approved a bill would make California the first state in the nation to ban single-use plastic and paper bags from being handed out free of charge at supermarkets, drug stores, convenience stores and liquor stores.

Full Story
Bob

Sonoma, CA

#5639 Jun 28, 2014
June Beam wrote:
There is a very simple solution to the bag problem. I've been doing it for several years now and it not only eliminates the bag pollution problem, but it also improves my health. When I go to the grocery store I try to park as close as I can to the entrance and then I leave the car doors unlocked. I'll usually be buying 20 or 30 items, so when I get ready to check out, I get in the line that's close to the exit door. As the checker is ringing up my items, I'll grab as many as I can hold and run from the checkout stand to my car and dump them on the floor; then run back inside to the checkout stand and grab another arm load and run back to the car. When everything is in the car, I go back inside and pay for my purchases. I always do my shopping at the same store, so they're familiar with my procedure and they're good with it. And when I say, "run," I'm not talking jogging, I'm talking full out sprinting. When I first started doing this, I weighed 147 pounds. Now I weigh 113 pounds. So you see, I look fit and I get a good Cardio workout and perspire a bit on warm days while helping to keep the environment clean. If I can do that (I'm a 43 year old woman) then you can do it too. Just be careful. I accidently knocked down an elderly lady on one occasion and we don't want to be doing that.