La Victoria's Orange Sauce
First Prev
of 7
Next Last

San Jose, CA

#130 Feb 20, 2014
At the front of the store, on the front counter, is a large sign stating that "the orange sauce is vegan." Its not a misunderstanding when someone takes the time to write up a sign and place it at the front counter. That is not the first sign I've seen with this written on it - at least not a the San Carlos location.

Santa Cruz, CA

#131 Apr 1, 2014
The sauce is labeled as "VEGAN" and it reiterates that on their website. If it is made out of anything derived from an animal then they are falsely advertising. Look at their website or just look at the bottle the next time you go there.

San Jose, CA

#132 May 11, 2014
From the website:
"What is the Orange Sauce?
Often imitated never duplicated, the Orange Sauce is as unique as the individuals who make it. A secret family recipe, the world famous Orange Sauce is a special sauce perfect for meat lovers and even vegans.
Often described as the “Best Sauce Ever”, the Orange Sauce is not just a sauce but a symbol of La Vic’s success.
Many restaurants have tried to imitate the sauce. They even use the same plastic squirt bottle and the “orange sauce name” but none have come close to the actual thing. So don’t get fooled by knock offs, there’s only one La Vic’s Orange Sauce that you can get at a La Vic’s restaurant."

It is perfect for meat lovers and even VEGANS.
This implies that it should contain no dairy and no meat.

San Jose, CA

#133 May 23, 2014
if you read the label... it says its "vegan"... notice the quotations on it... still can be anything.. what doesnt kill you tastes delicious haha

San Jose, CA

#134 Jun 13, 2014
It is a vegan based sauce actually and contains no animal by products. I been trying to replicate the orange sauce myself on my downtime to find out its secret.
My ingredients: tomato paste, round tomatoes , dried ancho and Gajillo peppers( soaked then blended, lemon juice, orange juice, chipotle peppers(canned) garlic, shallots, cilantro, roasted red bellpepper, canola oil, oregano, salt and pepper.
Results may very depending on the ratio of ingredients. I am still working to figure it out. Untill then, give this a try and tweak a few things if u feel it is necessary.

San Jose, CA

#135 Jun 13, 2014
Ok I figured it out. This may be the closest way to it. But now I am super positive that the creamy base they use is "veganase" blended with garlic, shallots, herbs, Gajillo peppers and ancho chiles. Blew my mind when veganase was brought into the topic. Try it
Orange Sauce

Concord, CA

#136 Jul 23, 2014
The label says it's vegan on it. (if you order to-go). I imagine if it weren't, they could actually get in a lot of trouble.

San Jose, CA

#137 Oct 21, 2014
Glamjock wrote:
Recently, a new girl was hired at the restaurant I work at. The conversation of, "I wonder what is in La Victoria's orange sauce" came up. She told me that she knew the owner and he told her it had, "chorizo sausage grease, mayonnaise and chili." No wonder it tastes so good. There is only one problem I have upon finding out what is likely among the orange sauce ingredients...I am a vegetarian. I am a vegetarian, and I have been eating at La Victoria for two years. I feel incredibly betrayed and disgusted. I want other people to realize that La Victoria's orange sauce tastes too good to be just another harmless hot sauce.
The La Vic's sauce is Vegan. No meat grease or milk or eggs or anything like that. You're good.

Dallas, TX

#138 Oct 26, 2014
I can tell you it 100% does not have any milk/cream/butter products, as I am severely allergic and have never had any problems with it. Gaaaahhh why can't we order this ish online!?


#139 Jan 5, 2015
I also have explicitly asked if the sauce contained any animal products and have repeatedly been told it was vegan and contained no animal products (I asked more than once because I didn't really believe that was possible as it is so creamy).

So the question was -- if egg and oil make mayo, what else can emulsify in oil to make a creamy sauce that is not from an animal??

The answer: soda crackers (saltines)

Saltines are often used as a thickener in many recipes for Ranch dressing, so this seems to make sense.

On another note: many people think chipotle chiles are the answer here but I think the sauce isn't that smoky and that guajillo chiles are a better option.

Los Gatos, CA

#140 Jul 21, 2016
paul wrote:
<quoted text>

i've never seen it explicitly advertised as vegetable based. had you ever asked them if it was? didn't think so...
Go on their website and it does say it's vegetarian

Tell me when this thread is updated:

Subscribe Now Add to my Tracker
First Prev
of 7
Next Last

Add your comments below

Characters left: 4000

Please note by submitting this form you acknowledge that you have read the Terms of Service and the comment you are posting is in compliance with such terms. Be polite. Inappropriate posts may be removed by the moderator. Send us your feedback.

Palo Alto Discussions

Title Updated Last By Comments
Sheryl Shannon of Facebook is a scammer Fri Redneck 1
Bing is a Terrible Search Engine Aug 15 Ruby Tuesday 16
Comcast is Worse Than You Think Aug 15 Ruby Tuesday 22
Ron Fleishman is the World's Most Underrated Ph... (Sep '15) Aug 15 Ruby Tuesday 343
My Teen Verbally Abuses Me (Feb '09) Aug 9 Tanya 139
News Sheriffa s Report: Stolen vehicles, possession,... Aug 6 dgt75 1
News Whata s causing the weird weather? Aug 6 Parden Pard 3

Palo Alto Jobs

More from around the web

Personal Finance

Palo Alto Mortgages