thank you to the men and women of the...

“ROCK ON ROCKERS!!”

Level 8

Since: Mar 11

Rockin' USA ;)

#304 Aug 5, 2011
REDNECK HIPPIE wrote:
<quoted text>
I am fortunate, in that I have nothing from the Vietnam war to heal from. I was in the Navy and spent my time in the Gulf of Tonkin, not in country. I was not exposed to the things that the men and women who were in country experienced.
I have had a number of conversations with vets from all branches of the service and different conflicts, from WWII to the current ones, while sitting in the canteen of my local VFW. I maintain that I am a Vietnam Era vet, not a Vietnam vet, because I never was in country and I make a distinction between those who served in the conflict arena and those who served directly in the conflict in country. My fellow vets say that it makes no difference, but i still make that distinction. It is important to me.
It is not that I want to add humor to the Vietnam war. I was making an observation that I have seen sitcoms set in the WWII and Korean wars and wondered if there was ever going to come a time when we would see one from the Vietnam war. I still maintain that humor can and does help heal.