Methadone ranks No. 1 in N.C. drug overdose deaths

There are 20 comments on the Mar 12, 2006, News Observer story titled Methadone ranks No. 1 in N.C. drug overdose deaths. In it, News Observer reports that:

Methadone - a drug best known for helping wean addicts off heroin -- is now the leading killer in North Carolina among those who accidentally overdose.

Join the discussion below, or Read more at News Observer.

Have Had Enough

AOL

#24 May 6, 2006
What ever happened to people being responsible? YOU DO NOT BUY DRUGS OFF THE STREET!! You also make sure if you are taking a prescription you ask the questions of your doctor that will keep you safe. If you have to, look it up on the internet. Don't put anything in your body that you do not what will do to you. If people were more responsible and in charge of themselves we wouldn't have this many problems. Besides, people sell drugs illegally because people buy them.
Lou Tabor

Greensboro, NC

#25 May 7, 2006
I am a nurse, and have recently taken methadone for severe, intolerable back pain. I am also a recovering drug addict with 13 years clean. Methadone helped relieve my pain until I finally had surgery, and, with God's help, I no longer needed to take it. Yet, if I had returned to drug addiction, it wouldn't have been the drug's fault, it would have been mine. If it hadn't been methadone, it would have been any other drug that I could obtain. I am heartbroken when I hear of anyone losing a child. But, please, let's not waste time and money fighting the drugs. We need to offer help to the user. Right now it is methadone. Next month it will probably be something else.
Grace

North Wilkesboro, NC

#26 May 8, 2006
Care wrote:
<quoted text>
Dear Grace, I too am scared of the possibilities...I'll keep you in my prayers and I hope you'll do the same for me....It relieves my headaches, when nothing else can. I am concerned for the future and it'e effect. Only human too!