Atheism requires as much faith as religion?

Atheism requires as much faith as religion? bearvspuma : The only problem with this rationalization is that ita s assuming all athiests are so because theya re intelligent in the ways of science and reasoning and all people that believe in a form of god are unintelligent. Full Story

Since: Sep 08

Location hidden

#179890 Oct 13, 2013
timn17 wrote:
<quoted text>What was bitter about my post? I thought it was an amusing little observation. You're a self styled "self taught intellectual rebel," and you claim as immutable the most ludicrous piece of dogma about god. An infinite being who gets jealous? Lol.
I don't have the same crippling fear of death as you, so all of the nonsense about "interstellar doo doo" and "being trapped here until death" is meaningless to me. Your fixation on the idea that life is meaningless if there's no afterlife/god/ultimate meaning/etc is very illuminating however.
I do commend you for the last bit of your post though. Unbridled hubris is always good for a laugh. You know the mind of god well enough to speak for him because you just kinda figured out the secrets of the universe/physics by tinkering around. Of course, it's only a coincidence that your glorious intellectual journey led you straight to a very typical conception of the christian god.
:-)