CCS/USGPRU Racer Alex Lyskawa Killed ...

CCS/USGPRU Racer Alex Lyskawa Killed In Crash At Summit Point Raceway

There are 110 comments on the Roadracing World story from May 26, 2008, titled CCS/USGPRU Racer Alex Lyskawa Killed In Crash At Summit Point Raceway. In it, Roadracing World reports that:

From a press release issued by CCS/ASRA: Championship Cup Series Mourns the Passing of Alex Lyskawa Summit Point, WV - Championship Cups Series regrettably announces today the passing of Alex Lyskawa, age 13 of ...

Join the discussion below, or Read more at Roadracing World.

First Prev
of 6
Next Last
Bill Kohler

Frederick, MD

#1 May 26, 2008
I am an editor at a newspaper in Hagerstown, Md., which covers this area of West Virginia. How odd is this that a 13-year-old is racing motorcycles? Also, how can I find out about the number of fatal collisions at Summit Point? Is there any reference that tracks this? Thanks
Matt Ongsiako

Londonderry, NH

#2 May 26, 2008
I know this kid, I go to his school, out whole school is in mourning, I even contacted Nicky Hayden because Alex's dream was to meet him

This is just horrible what happened =[
Michael Ferguson

Mesquite, TX

#3 May 26, 2008
Its actually not so odd that a 13 old kid is racing. Children younger then this are racing dirt bikes and flat track bikes for years. Road racing has been an older guys sport, yet Nicky Hayden and his brother Tommy were busted for "under age" racing in their earlier years. The 3 Hayden brothers are all alive and well after many years of road racing.

Point being, don't lose site of the fact that although it is tragic that a young man died racing today, he was there on his own free will, and was chasing a dream he wanted to chase.

Is the sport dangerous, yes it can be. However so can living in the wrong part of NYC or LA and wearing the wrong clothes.

Statiscally, how many kids died under the age of 15 this week from gunshots? Drug overdose? Car accidents related to underage drinking?
Luke