Hundreds of birds die in western Ky.

Jan 5, 2011 Full story: The Cincinnati Enquirer 81,722

MURRAY, Ky. - State wildlife officials say "several hundred" dead birds were found near the Murray State University campus last week.

Full Story

Level 1

Since: Mar 11

Location hidden

#81487 Jan 8, 2013
Ancient Wolf wrote:
<quoted text>
Perhaps she was talking about a different kind than we Southern guys remember. Maybe give her the benefit of the doubt since she once lived in the North East and is just now learning the lingo. LOL
I bet she doesn't even know "Work from can to can't". She probably uses something like "toil from sunrise until sunset". No doubt does not know "shat the door" or "drap that thar oft" or "carry me over yander to the store". LOL
Yes, I'm still learning the lingo of the South. You folks have the most colorful descriptive language. I love it. When I first came here, people were talking about a holler, and I thought they meant shouting. I knew what "no count" meant...but I couldn't imagine where,when angry, someone would say, "I'll stomp a mudhole in your azz and walk it dry." Then I figured out how someone could literally stomp a mudhole in Kentucky's rather damp, clay ground. It took a couple of weeks for our neighbors to understand us and we, them, but eventually we got messages across. I know the difference between "redneck" and "plain country" now and when I think that I have mastered the lingo, someone comes up with another colorful phrase.

Level 1

Location hidden

#81488 Jan 8, 2013
capitalize wrote:
<quoted text>
I didn't know hell was a proper noun, and even if it is I wouldn't take the effort to capitalize it just like I don't capitalize zionist or nazi or communist. I consider taking the effort to capitalize as a sign of respect, but there are just some words I have no respect for.