New to hockey and the Blackhawks? Her...

New to hockey and the Blackhawks? Here's a primer

There are 55 comments on the Chicago Tribune story from Dec 30, 2008, titled New to hockey and the Blackhawks? Here's a primer. In it, Chicago Tribune reports that:

The spectacle of the Winter Classic Thursday at Wrigley Field is sure to draw some first-time hockey attendees and viewers so here's a quick lesson about the sport and the hometown Blackhawks.

Join the discussion below, or Read more at Chicago Tribune.

First Prev
of 3
Next Last
hawknut

Aurora, IL

#1 Dec 30, 2008
one correction - there IS icing during power plays, for the team that does not have one of its players in the penalty box. There is no icing for the short-handed (penalized) team only!
Two line pass

Bolingbrook, IL

#2 Dec 30, 2008
What? Chicago has a hockey team? That's awesome! Hockey is a neat sport, and I'm glad the NHL expanded to Chicago.
AndrewPDX

Portland, OR

#3 Dec 30, 2008
Thanks for this. Yes, I'm a newbie but I look forward to learning. My older brother was a fan of the Keith Magnuson/Tony Esposito-era Hawks, but I was too young to understand the nuances of the game. It'd be cool to take up the mantle.
Detroit Sucks

Aurora, IL

#4 Dec 30, 2008
So sad that there has to be an article about this...the Hawks have only been around since 1926.
And that Patrick Kane fella...who is he again? Please! Now that the Bears lost, I for one am thankful that the Hawks are in the spotlight once again!
Kevin

Chicago, IL

#5 Dec 30, 2008
Are you kidding me? Did an article this basic and insulting have to be written?

Does the trib really think we wouldn't even know which team the hawks are?

WOW! This is scary, apparently chicago is in florida
Greg

Niagara Falls, NY

#6 Dec 30, 2008
This article is ridiculous. Come on Chicago! You're an "Original 6" hockey city. Bring "The Classic" back to Buffalo, a city that very obviously doesn't need an insulting article such as this.
Greg

Niagara Falls, NY