my scabies experience
dasher

Chicago, IL

#1 Nov 3, 2009
I would just like to share my experience, give a little advice and hope to those suffering from this disease (yes, it's considered a skin disease).
I'm a college student living in Chicago, and around the same time last year my roommate was misdiagnosed with herpes, and was extremely worried. Finally a good doctor told him it was scabies, and by the time he told me that we had to treat ourselves I had it. Not a huge deal, it was in it's early stages and I got rid of it fairly quickly. Our other roommate had not heard of it either and she took it very poorly.
Over the summer I developed the same kind of itching in the leg area and was worried it was scabies again. I asked the girl I was seeing if she was itchy, and she said "sort of" and then when I told her I suspected one of us gave the other scabies, she got extremely upset and left my house. I went to two different doctors who scraped my skin and found nothing, and said I had eczema. I told the girl after that there was nothing wrong then stopped seeing her because the way she treated me when I broke the news was immature and a turnoff.
Time went on and the rashes got worse and worse, as did the itching. It was in all of the classic spots, and eventually spread to my genitals. I went through a lot of emotional distress and for 4-5 months was in anguish over it. I wanted to trust the doctors' diagnosis but I still had no idea what was wrong with me. I also convinced myself I likely had syphilis, because of the single bump that came and went on my penis and the feeling of insanity that one apparently gets from syphilis. I got tested, and that came up as negative too.