Post Scabies: my story & advice!!

Posted in the Scabies Forum

First Prev
of 2
Next Last
Angie

Birmingham, AL

#1 Aug 1, 2012
This is my first time actually posting here, but definitely not my first visit. I think forums like this can be kind of dangerous in some ways, because I honestly didnt start having panic attacks about my scabies until I came on here & let it all go to my head. BUT there definitely is some useful information as well.

I thought I would post a few things that I did during my treatment and am still continue to do now just to be safe & maintain the itch a little. Nothing drastic or out of the ordinary, but I swear, we all know how TERRIBLE the itch and pain is, and these things helped me.

I've always had sensitive skin so after 3 rounds of Premethrin, my skin was WRECKED. I became obsessed with reinfestation because I was itching just as bad and in new places where I did'nt have bumps or itched before. After talking with my dermatologist, she explained that Premethrin is powerful and neccessary to kill the mites, but it's going to make your skin crazy dry and itchy. I think it is also what causes the "crawling" sensation I've seen alot of people mention, because I didnt experience that at all until after the treatment. One of the best things you can do for dry/itchy skin is DON'T TAKE REALLY HOT SHOWERS. Shower with warm water instead, and after a pharmacist recommended it to me, I started using Aveeno Dry Skin Relief body wash - make sure you get the bottle that has no fragrance & is for dry/itchy/sensitive skin relief. I'm telling you, that stuff is like heaven. I would get in the shower and rub it everywhere in a nice lather, move out of the water spray, and just sigh in relief. It is amazing. I tried soaking in oatmeal baths a few times, and it definitely didnt hurt but I wouldnt say it really brought any relief either.