yoga after hip replacement
First Prev
of 6
Next Last
ELB

San Jose, CA

#1 Oct 6, 2006
I'm considering total hip replacement this year at age 56. Any experiences with yoga post-surgery? What can you do/no longer do, and how soon did you resume your practice?
Sarah UK

Wincanton, UK

#2 Oct 7, 2006
ELB wrote:
I'm considering total hip replacement this year at age 56. Any experiences with yoga post-surgery? What can you do/no longer do, and how soon did you resume your practice?
I didn't take up yoga until after my second hip replacement at 37. There are some positions I can't do based on the angle of the hip, but most of them are OK. I really enjoy my yoga and it did really help to strengthen my muscles post surgery. As yoga is about listening to your body it seems the perfect exercise!
Anne- South Africa

South Africa

#3 Jun 26, 2007
I have been teaching yoga for over 20 years and one of my most faithful students (over 10 years)has had 2 hips replaced on either side(4 ops). She only came to yoga after these operations. She and her surgeon say that yoga has helped her enormously, even causing tissue growth onto the prothesis's. She still struggles with swinging her leg back to the lunge position in Salute the Sun but does just about all other postures with ease. She is well into her 60's, and plays competition Bowls as well.
Sandy - US

Bayonne, NJ

#4 Sep 4, 2007
Hi Anne - is there a good resource for finding information for beginners who are post hip replacement? I am trying to find some resources for my mother who is 59 and had her hip replaced about 10 yrs ago. I am hoping she can gain some of the benefits of relaxation, centering, and strength without compromising the joints. She was also recently diagnosed with osteoarthritis (separate from her hip) and has pains in her lower back as well as bursitis in her shoulders.
Susan DeMaria

Pleasanton, CA

#5 Mar 11, 2008
Anne- South Africa wrote: