Howie

Washington, DC

#22 Oct 23, 2009
You should not be complaining about numbness in the groin. You do not have pain?

Howie Greene
John E Australia

Brisbane, Australia

#23 Nov 1, 2009
I had open inguinal hernia repair done 8 days ago on the right side. It was made clear to me that the nerves directly under the 8 inches incision were to be removed to avoid complications so I'm guessing that's a pre that many surgeons take. I had no mesh, just dissolving stitches beneath a dirty great line of staples going from the base of my stalk almost to the hip. My cross dressing catwalk days showing the Aussie summer slims are over, but apart from a bit of soreness/tightness I'm looking forward to flying my hangglider again without risk of my guts falling into the trees on takeoff. Good Luck
James

AOL

#24 Nov 17, 2009
A General Surgeon wrote:
I am a general surgeon. Your numbness is most likely due to a ligated ilioinguinal or iliohypogastric nerve. They are senosory nerves located around the spermatic chord. Some surgeons, including myself, will routinely section or cut the nerves in an effort to try to prevent nerve entrapment syndrome which affects roughly 30% of all hernia repairs. Most patients are pain free in 6 weeks but for some the pain and discomfort are very debilitating. The nerves are sensory, so they don't effect muscle strength. They have nothing to do with sexual function. Most randomized studies on chronic nerve pain show no difference in pain scores after 3 weeks or so. There is a slightly decreased incidence of short term pain. The going theory is that the nerves get caught up in the inflammatory process associated with the mesh leading to nerve entrapment and chronic pain. Some surgeons will selectively cut the nerves dependending on where they are in association with the mesh. Typical human healing is 6-8 wks. If you have not regained sensation by then, it is likely you will not.
<quoted text>