new denture wearer
Funny Girl

Miami, FL

#972 May 19, 2011
ALTHEA wrote:
HI THERE - MY DENTIST SUGGESTED I GO ONLINE TO HEAR ABOUT OTHER FOLKS HAVING ALL UPPER TEETH REMOVED THEN GETTING USED TO A FULL TOP DENTURE FOR 6-8 MONTHS BEFORE HAVING 6 POSTS PUT IN TO SUPPORT A PERMANENT TOP DENTURE...I AM A SINGER AND VOCAL COACH AND THE THOUGHT TERRIFIES ME...PRIMARILY BECAUSE I DO HAVE PERIODONTAL DISEASE (HAVE HAD THE REQUISITE SURGERY - NOW THAT WAS A BUCKET OF FUN@!@) AND I HAVE BEEN DILIGENT OVER THE LAST SEVERAL YEARS HAVING REGULAR DEEP ROOT SCALING IN ORDER TO SAVE MY TEETH...NOW THE TOOTH DOCTOR IS OUTLINING TO ME THAT I'LL BE IN A BETTER POSITION NOW TO PROCEED WITH HIS RECOMMENDATIONS THAN I WILL BE IN A FEW YEARS WHEN MY GUMS HAVE RECEDED FURTHER AND I WILL HAVE LESS BONE MASS... ANYONE OUT THERE WHO'S A SINGER WHO'S HAPPY TO TELL ME THE STORY OF SINGING WITH FALSE TEETH IN THE MOUTH (KEEPING IN MIND THE POSSIBILITY OF DENTURES FLYING ACROSS THE STAGE WHEN I'M SINGING FULL TILT...NOW THAT PAINTS A PICTURE DOESN'T IT????) I DON'T KNOW IF MY INNATE SENSE OF HUMOUR COULD ACTUALLY LAUGH THAT ONE AWAY OR IF MY PRIDE WOULD BE DESICRATED TO THE POINT I'D NEVER STEP ON STAGE AGAIN...DO JUMP IN...ANYONE...HELP ME OUT HERE...I'M LOOKING AT APPROXIMATELY $30,000 PLUS DENTURES...YIKES...
Althea please email me at [email protected] if you get a chance. I love to sing too (I have taken private classes), and also suffer from periodontal disease. I just got a periodontal splint with resin-reinforced fiber on the inside of my mouth (from canine to canine), and I feel it with my tongue. As a hobby-singer, I am acutely aware of my tongue's movements in my mouth and wonder if I'll get totally used to this feeling. How are you getting along with singing with your dentures? Any advice?

Since: Apr 11

La Porte, IN

#973 May 20, 2011