Mickelson apologises for hitting moving ball during US Open
Phil Mickeson is "embarrassed and disappointed" by his actions after deliberately hitting a moving ball at last week's US Open to prevent it rolling off the green. The five-time major winner was four over par for the day on Saturday when he badly over-hit a putt on the 13th green and, seeing where it was headed, he ran around a struck it again, a breach of rule 14-5 which incurs a two-shot penalty.
Join the discussion below, or Read more at Watford Observer.
#1 Jun 21, 2018
I thought it was funny; also thought it was funny when Daley got pissed at pine hurst....occasionally the USGA looses sight and gets a little out of control...they need a little something to get their attention...
Since: Jun 11
#2 Jun 26, 2018
Mickey did nothing wrong. The rules say you can hit a moving ball but there's a two stroke penalty. Occasionally that's the smart play. Just like you can pick a ball out of a bad lie and give yourself a good lie if you accept a one stroke penalty.
Add your comments below
|Best of: Tiger Woods and Erica Herman||17 hr||MAJ||1|
|Talk About Recency Bias, Media Continues To Not...||Aug '18||Lee||1|
|Sport24.co.za | Rahm hit by bizarre 1-shot pena...||Aug '18||Parden Pard||1|
|RBC Canadian Open 2018 odds: Surprising...||Jul '18||BreatheFreeGreatSex||1|
|The Latest: Woods shoots even-par 71 at British...||Jul '18||jimbo||1|
|Padraig Harrington: Phil Mickelson's error was ...||Jul '18||Jimbo||1|
|Frustrated Brooke Henderson smashes club in two...||Jul '18||jimbo||1|
Find what you want!
Search PGA Golf Forum Now
Copyright © 2018 Topix LLC