u r WRONG!The ball does NOT need to cross the plane with a RECEIVER catches it. For a receiving touchdown, the receiver needs to have both feed in the end-zone and control of the ball. Consider this scenario:
A quarterback rolls to the right. He throws to a receiver on the right side of the end-zone. The ball travels in the air, and during its entire trip via air, it is out of bounds. But the receiver, with feet in bounds, reaches out and grabs it in, with both feet down in the end-zone.
No one with any knowledge of football would deny that the above scenario represents a touchdown. The same goes for sideline catches. The BALL doesn't need to be in-bounds. Only the player's feet do. The receiving touchdown rule is the inverse of the sideline receiving rule. Feet in, ball under control=catch. Similarly, feet in end-zone, ball under control=touchdown.
Now let's move on