Cold Soups: Gazpacho, Borscht and More

There are 4 comments on the Jul 28, 2009, findingDulcinea story titled Cold Soups: Gazpacho, Borscht and More. In it, findingDulcinea reports that:

Cold soup can be made with virtually anything: almonds, melon, hearts of palm. Served chilled, soup is a perfect summer option, either pre- or post-meal. More versatile than its warmer equivalent, both savory and sweet cold soup recipes abound.

Join the discussion below, or Read more at findingDulcinea.

Nathaniel

New York, NY

#1 Jul 28, 2009
Mmm, I had the most amazing gazpacho the other night, thank you for reminding me. I've never tried these other cold soups, some of which look fantastic -- I'll have to seek them out (I'm a pathetic cook).
Not the borscht, though -- I had a Ukrainian friend growing up, so I've had more than my fair share of that, though it was served hot...
Janet

Portland, OR

#2 Jul 28, 2009
Nathaniel wrote:
Mmm, I had the most amazing gazpacho the other night, thank you for reminding me. I've never tried these other cold soups, some of which look fantastic -- I'll have to seek them out (I'm a pathetic cook).
Not the borscht, though -- I had a Ukrainian friend growing up, so I've had more than my fair share of that, though it was served hot...
Cold borscht is delicious with a dollop of sour cream. Way better than borscht served hot.
Steve

Portland, OR

#3 Jul 29, 2009
If only you knew how hot it is here today - I am definitely going to be making some cold soup for dinner - that or ice cream!
paul shykora

Calgary, Canada

#4 Aug 4, 2009
Janet wrote:
<quoted text> Cold borscht is delicious with a dollop of sour cream. Way better than borscht served hot.
..YES...Yeth...good...is .goodness....eh...yada u...

Tell me when this thread is updated:

Subscribe Now Add to my Tracker

Add your comments below

Characters left: 4000