Mercado a monument to displaced workers

Mercado a monument to displaced workers

There are 21 comments on the El Paso Times story from Apr 30, 2009, titled Mercado a monument to displaced workers. In it, El Paso Times reports that:

Hilda Garcia thinks often of all the work and sacrifice it took to get the project off the ground.

Join the discussion below, or Read more at El Paso Times.

First Prev
of 2
Next Last
MATEO

Fort Huachuca, AZ

#1 Apr 30, 2009
Ms. Garcia,
I wish you and Mercado Mayapan much success in the future. I am a former El Paso resident and I know that your vision and what you are doing will benefit the city greatly. God bless.
Angry Old Man

El Paso, TX

#2 Apr 30, 2009
well hell, when does the taco sale start?

tacos and a cold one, no need to head on down to swine flu, mexico.
Luis

Conroe, TX

#3 Apr 30, 2009
This is something that El Paso needed a long time ago. Having the foresight and common sense to create markets like this is going to help the Mercado Mayapan succeed. I no longer live in El Paso, but I would certainly purchase items if they were available online, which may be another good idea for marketing their products to customers world-wide. El Pasoans, new and old, need to support this place instead of worrying about attracting higher end retail! While higher end retial definitely will bring in revenue for the City, culture as an economic development tool is much more effective. Just ask New York City, Chicago, Philadelphia, Houston, Los Angeles, and all other cities that traditionally pride themselves on their local culture. It's time for El Paso to showcase our genuine Mexican culture.
Catallina

El Paso, TX

#4 Apr 30, 2009
I WANT TO SEE DIVERSITY! I want to see that there are African American vendors as well as White American vendors here. Workers displaced by NAFTA my butt! Remember, were all in this together.
kaa

El Paso, TX

#5 Apr 30, 2009