Mountain Mission School offers hope in the mountains

May 3, 2010 Full story: Http 220

GRUNDY, Va. - Claudius says he's among "the chosen few." You wouldn't think that from the circumstances he was raised in: At age 13, he was about to be sent to foster care or to live with a relative who'd harmed him.

Full Story
First Prev
of 11
Next Last
Out Of Buch

Knoxville, TN

#1 May 16, 2010
I needed a good laugh and that article gave it to me. If anyone has ever tried to volunteer their time, money, or items to Mountain Mission they know how it really is there. No one appreciates anything you try to do for them there. Look at the so called administrators of the place. Where does the money the so called orphanage really go?
Still In Buch

Harrisonburg, VA

#2 May 16, 2010
Mountain Mission School is not what it used to be. Sam Hurley would not be pleased with what it has become.
Still Here Too

Harrisonburg, VA

#3 May 16, 2010
I'm a graduate of the school and have also taught there so I know a little on this subject.

First, no school is perfect and I wouldn't even try to put it in that light. But, the school provided an excellent education and in some cases better than the classes I had in college. The people there are some of most upstanding folks I know. However, as I said earlier that it isn't perfect and there are a few that don't adhere to the "mission" and that is to project Christ in all that we do.
love the school

Pounding Mill, VA

#4 May 16, 2010
I have two there and love the school. I love that the message is all about God. I love that there are people with different backgrounds in with my children. I love that the importance of education is emphasized. No comparison with any other school in this county.
I wannabe

Pounding Mill, VA

#5 May 16, 2010
I heard it was no longer an orphanage and that they only take blacks and minorities.

Since: Jul 11

Marcus Hook, PA

#6 Jul 23, 2011