VA Superintendents Call for Increased State Funding

Tuesday, superintendents from both sides of the Blue Ridge gathered to offer a common message to Richmond. Full Story
Too late

Moneta, VA

#1 Feb 26, 2013
Isn't VA General Assembly over for the year? Why yes it is...Sine Die (adjouring) was February 23. They will reconvene briefly on 4/3.

While the message is somewhat okay, perhaps they'd have been more effective if they actually knew when our state government operated.
Intheloop

Moneta, VA

#2 Feb 26, 2013
These superintendents have spent numerous hours talking with legislators since last October. This Press Conference was intended to inform the public of their message.
Caught in the Vise

Charlottesville, VA

#3 Feb 26, 2013
Federal school funding is being cut. The sequestration will cut much more. State funding is being cut. Local funding is being cut.

As a teacher, I have seen my pay frozen or cut each year for the last 6. With layoffs, my workload and class load has increased. I now work an average of 72 hours a week. The stress has taken a toll on many of my fellow teachers, and have seen two of them fall in the pas year, one from a heart attack, and one from a stroke. My health insurance has more than doubled to 47% of my paycheck, but covers far less.

My take-home pay in actual dollars in now less than in was as a new teacher in 2000. Factoring for inflation and cost of living in gas, utilities, etc., and my buying power is actually 55% of what it was on day one. Because my school no longer furnishes supplies, I have spent $1340 out of pocket to make sure my students have what they need.

Because of this, I have been labeled an overpaid government parasite, a drain on the economy, and a lazy do-nothing. A retiree wearing a Tea Party "Don't tread on me" t-shirt actually spit on me in the grocery store last month when they heard I was a teacher.