Group asks DeSoto County schools to h...

Group asks DeSoto County schools to halt prayers at athletic events, graduations

There are 33 comments on the Memphis Commercial Appeal story from Aug 18, 2011, titled Group asks DeSoto County schools to halt prayers at athletic events, graduations. In it, Memphis Commercial Appeal reports that:

The Freedom From Religion Foundation has issued a letter of complaint to DeSoto County Schools objecting to prayers at athletic events and high school graduations.

Join the discussion below, or Read more at Memphis Commercial Appeal.

First Prev
of 2
Next Last
Kelsi B

United States

#1 Aug 19, 2011
In my 4 years of living here In olive branch and being a highschool student I have never been so infuriated with the restraints and rules we must obied by here. This is the most rediculous unheard of and most of all UN CALLED FOR rule! Why should we not be able to pray before games and GRADUATION?? In my oppinion and many others, this should be done away with and never thought of again. What about the people who take affence to not praying? Why should they givd up there freedom?? The people who have complained should simply GET OVER IT! They dont have anymore rights that the beleivers!!
you are not smart

Memphis, TN

#2 Aug 20, 2011
hence you need laws to prevent you from hurtng yourself...and others. I bet you will have a job with your name on your shirt.
This is why you need that prayer, because you do not have a chance in hell of getting a real job.
Pray all you want...if you have a prayer..I can hold a prayer vigil with a bunch of muslims in your football field...at your gradation. Eye for an eye.

Ps...that education sure is working...LMAO
Abide...
ridiculous
uncalled...one word mmkay!?
opinion
offense
givd??? no clue
believers
you are not smart

Memphis, TN

#3 Aug 20, 2011
if you spent as much time studying as you do praying to a mysterious being(that may or may not exist)... people might belive you.
I have rights too