First Prev
of 3
Next Last
Jason

King, NC

#1 Jan 15, 2009
When is swift going to start rehiring ppl ive been calling them for 2 months and they keep saying a couple of weeks.
freightshaker

Penryn, CA

#2 Jan 18, 2009
Rehiring of past drivers and new driver has been put on hold till this freight situation improves. Currently, there are not enough trucks for the student that graduate. Some of these graduates have been waiting weeks. There is even a rumor of reduction of the fleet. So, if your waiting for Swift, it could be a very long time indeed. So better to move on.
carbano

Bellevue, WA

#3 Jan 22, 2009
Swift is reducing their fleet of drivers by 18%, as of 1-21-09, and their school is closed till March.
Wildman

Yuma, AZ

#4 Feb 1, 2009
Swift cut 6 instructors on 01/30/09. 42 students are now on hold for hiring.
bentstrider

San Bernardino, CA

#5 Feb 14, 2009
I'm assuming this hiring freeze is at all terminals.
I was fired from them in '07, but was told I could come back if I got 6 months with someone else.

I've got other work lined up right now, but I'll just keep my CDL updated for whenever they do decide to open back up.

Oddly enough though, there seems to be no mention of this elsewhere.
Lisa

Seneca, IL

#6 Feb 16, 2009
Jason wrote:
When is swift going to start rehiring ppl ive been calling them for 2 months and they keep saying a couple of weeks.
I hope never. There isn't enough freight for the drivers they already have.
theresa

Chicago, IL

#7 Mar 8, 2009
Now SWIFT has cut the Owner/Operator HEALTH INSURANCE effective April 1, 2009. This leaves hundreds of drivers without health insurance! We only have a month's notice to find other insurance (or other employment).
Their management and driver managers are the rudest, most arrogant people I have ever dealt with. Hope they lose their insurance, too.
They can all go to hell
JamesTurner

Las Vegas, NV

#8 Mar 24, 2009
Jason wrote:
Don't know but we're training new students at the Moberly D.C. cdlofit.com