Reality Speaks

Columbus, OH

#4283 Feb 9, 2013
Adif understanding wrote:
<quoted text>just so you know, I used to charge $30 an hour to mow lawns back in 1983 as a teenager. Outside of a couple old widows on fixed income that I more or less mowed for free but let them pay me the $1.00-$1.50 wage they insisted was necessary (plus free cookies around holidays :)), I would average between $10 and $15 a normal yard in town. I had a couple commercial lots that took an hour or two to do and I received the full $30 and $60 respectively.
I would be surprised if it doesn't cost more now. Especially since child labor laws pretty much make it illegal to do this now and the cost of fuel and equipment is more then double.
in 1983 I graduated college.
Went to work 2 weeks after graduation.

You are a young whippersnapper.

in 1979 the year I graduated high school, I purchased a brand new Olds Cutlass Supreme Brougham.
It cost $5800 out the door; and I had cash.
this would be my 3rd car of my life, first new one, all with money earned like you described, paper route, snow shoveling, and jobs. I had 17 lawns I was responsible for; and all of them paper customers.

PS: Equipment.... neighbors were easy to coax to allow me to use their mower and maintain it. Between my Dad's lawn tractor; and multiple neighbor mowers, I never was short equipment. One neighbor had a snowblower; and he would allow me to use it as it was mine. I did his driveway first; and at no charge.

“Ludibrium est onus genio”

Since: Dec 11

Planet Earth

#4284 Feb 9, 2013
<quoted text>I don't think you know what an answer is?
He knows... He's just afraid... like a cockroach when the light is turned on.
Adif understanding

United States

#4285 Feb 9, 2013
Reality Speaks wrote:
<quoted text>
in 1979 the year I graduated high school, I purchased a brand new Olds Cutlass Supreme Brougham.