Is it OK to be a Counselor and Homoph...

Is it OK to be a Counselor and Homophobic?

There are 185 comments on the www.psychologytoday.com story from Feb 4, 2012, titled Is it OK to be a Counselor and Homophobic?. In it, www.psychologytoday.com reports that:

What do we do when personal and professional justification systems collide? If you are a counselor or a professional psychologist, to what extent do your personal beliefs and values need to align with those of the profession? A recent case involving a counselor in training is has brought this question to a head.

Join the discussion below, or Read more at www.psychologytoday.com.

First Prev
of 10
Next Last

Since: Dec 08

Toronto, ON, Canada

#1 Feb 4, 2012
People should really by asking "Is it okay to be a counselor and a religionist?"

“Love thy neighbor!”

Since: Dec 06

Westland , MI

#2 Feb 4, 2012
She refused to follow the counseling guidelines, but sued when she was told she had to. I think that as a teacher I should have been able to write my own curriculum, to heck with what the state mandates. RIGHT.........
Tucksun Jack

Tucson, AZ

#3 Feb 4, 2012
Is it ok to be anti-Semitic and a counselor ?

After all, one can choose not to follow the "Jewish lifestyle".

Since: Aug 11

Location hidden

#4 Feb 4, 2012
One who had sexual orientation or gender issues would be a fool to go to such a 'therapist.' Actually, it would be highly unethical for any therapist to force their prejudices upon a client.
Chicago Guy

Evanston, IL

#5 Feb 4, 2012
Tucksun Jack wrote:
Is it ok to be anti-Semitic and a counselor ?
After all, one can choose not to follow the "Jewish lifestyle".
Don't be stupid.

If any medical counselor ever denounced a client's Judaism, or tried to "talk them out of it", they would be universally denounced, and probably disbarred.
Tucksun Jack

Tucson, AZ

#6 Feb 4, 2012
Chicago Guy wrote:
<quoted text>
Don't be stupid.