Up Next: Girl has gift for writing

Up Next: Girl has gift for writing

There are 8 comments on the Evening Sun story from Aug 15, 2010, titled Up Next: Girl has gift for writing. In it, Evening Sun reports that:

Sabrina Kyle, 12, wrote a short story called "The Race" for a school assignment at Bermudian Springs Middle School in York Springs.

Join the discussion below, or Read more at Evening Sun.

An Editor

Fort Collins, CO

#1 Aug 16, 2010
As an editor myself, I'm curious to know if the Evening Sun employs proofreaders. If not, you should. There are two glaring errors that should have been caught before this article was published.

First, the omission of two letters at the end of a word can change the meaning of a sentence. For example, the article states, "As part of a six-grade school assignment for her reading class at Bermudian Springs Middle School in York Springs, Kyle wrote a short story using Greek mythology."

"as part of a six-grade school assignment..." means the assignment was given to six grades. Since the girl in the article will be in seventh grade next year, I will conclude writer meant to say that the assignment was given as part her sixTH-grade reading class.

Second, the writer of this article needs to check facts before going to print. Poseidon was a Greek god (male), not goddess (female).

In the big scheme of things, this doesn't seem important. However, if the writer of this article plans to pursue a career in reporting, grammar matters and it's important to check details.
Dr Sherrie

Carlisle, PA

#2 Aug 16, 2010
AMEN! Congrats Sabrina! This sounds like an awesome story! I'd like to read it in it's entirety myself. Keep up the great work an always let your imagination flow!
Dr. Sherrie
Christian Counselor
Dr Sherrie

Carlisle, PA

#3 Aug 16, 2010
Oh mercy "editor" she's a 12 year old child, and she has plenty of time to learn...geeeeezzzz! And brain overloads are not uncommon when one reads for a living...
John Garner