Whitney PD
Tabwells

Crosbyton, TX

#1 Sep 11, 2010
I got a ticket tonight. Not for speeding, not for insurance, not for an open container, but for a registration offense. I wouldn't normally complain about that, but it was not even my car. I had a headlight out (again, it's not my car, so I didn't know), and I was driving through Whitney. I got pulled over. I turned on my dome light, had my license ready, had my hands on the steering wheel, and answered the officer's questions honestly and quickly. Even so, I was subjected to a field sobriety test and given a written warning for the headlight. I thought I had done well, but apparently it was necessary to write me a ticket for someone else's registration. I had no idea it was expired, because I was doing a favor for a relative (Mother-in-law) when I was pulled over. It happened to be Friday, and the officer was especially vigilant about drunk drivers. I have no objection to that, since i have been a cop for the last 15 years or so myself. The officer was polite as he performed the SFST (standardized field sobriety tests) on me, and was looking for the clues to my intoxication. Even though he didn't do the tests perfectly, I was considerate. I'm a big guy, he's not. He warned me for the headlight; the insurance and inspection were apparently up to date, and gave me a ticket...and I kid you not... for an expired license plate...on my mother in law's vehicle. I guess I could circle the car and look for all these deficiencies before I leave, but, even as a cop, I did not think to do so. All I can say is, "way to go Whitney." While there was a home football game going on, I got a ticket for an expired license plate. Never mind the larger or personal economic situation. Whitney wanted its local "voluntary tax." A voluntary tax is one which you volunteer to pay. The lottery, beer, cigarettes, and, of course, municipal ordinance violations. Doesn't really matter if you meant to pay them, you volunteered to pay them. And bas