Doughboy War Memorial at Jamestown destroyed

Feb 20, 2008 | Posted by: roboblogger | Full story: Columbia Magazine

Doughboy War Memorial at Jamestown destroyed By Sgt. Jeffrey Kerns, News Media Director, Jamestown PD Story forwarded to ColumbiaMagazine.com by Larry Smith, WHVE 92.7 FM The Doughboy War Memorial statue in ... via Columbia Magazine

Comments
1 - 5 of 5 Comments Last updated Feb 8, 2012
jamestown visitor

Elizabethtown, KY

|
Report Abuse
|
Judge it!
|
Feb 20, 2008

How sad that this monument was destroyed. I like the way each small town has its own special look and feel. Hopefully this can be repaired in the near future. Good Luck to Jamestown. You are a community that can and will come together to fix the Doughboy or come up with another idea to show honor to those people that served our country.
carver

Davis, IL

|
Report Abuse
|
Judge it!
|
Feb 8, 2012

Beyond words. I am a marine vet and that just strikes a nerve. On a side note, I am a chainsaw carved and would be very interested in carving a big memorial to replace the old one if it can't be fixed.

“It is what it is, folks!!”

Since: Feb 10

The land of harmony and peace

|
Report Abuse
|
Judge it!
|
Feb 8, 2012

Wow, what happened to it? Vandals I assume? Sorry to hear that he got destroyed. Hope it can be repaired!!!

“It is what it is, folks!!”

Since: Feb 10

The land of harmony and peace

|
Report Abuse
|
Judge it!
|
Feb 8, 2012

Ok, sorry to sound like a buffoon, but the story wasn't at the top of my page when I first clicked this thread for some reason. I also now see that this incident happened around Fed of '08. In case it happens to someone else and they can't view the story, here it is:

By Sgt. Jeffrey Kerns, News Media Director, Jamestown PD
Story forwarded to ColumbiaMagazine.com by Larry Smith, WHVE 92.7 FM

The Doughboy War Memorial statue in downtown Jamestown was destroyed after being struck by a 1995 Ford pickup driven by Danny R. Wilson, 49, of Somerset, KY.