Next Last
africs

Covington, GA

#24 Jun 20, 2013
I'm struggling so much and I wish I had section 8
BlessedNoneTheLe ss

South Pasadena, CA

#25 Jul 2, 2013
I am 26 years old with 3 children. I am a full time college student, and an 8 year Disabled Air Force Veteran. I receive section 8, food stamps, and childcare assistance. Not only am I an honor student who volunteers with other disabled vets, my oldest children are in highly gifted magnet schools as well. I don't use my housing voucher to live outside of my means nor do I depend on food stamps as my main source of food. Both are used to subsidize my income which may not be a lot but I make it work. Any 'extra' funds that come along such as income taxes are direct deposited into a savings account for a down payment on the home that I plan on purchasing after graduation with the help of the VA loan that I EARNED by joining the military at 17! Everyone on section 8 is not a parasite. My children are well mannered and extremely smart. I respect those around me that hold down a steady job and I believe being a full time student deserves the same respect. I am the first generation in my family on any type of public assistance however I will not be ashamed nor will I allow anyone to demean me or my children because of the situation I am in. I use public assistance as a stepping stone, not a crutch. I can't pass this housing voucher and food stamps to my children/grand children when I'm gone! My point is, not everyone is the same. Be careful how you judge.
londonhermit

Longmeadow, MA

#26 Jul 30, 2013