McCarthy's -- A dining delight

McCarthy's -- A dining delight

There are 15 comments on the The News-Sun story from Jan 12, 2007, titled McCarthy's -- A dining delight. In it, The News-Sun reports that:

I'm not a professional restaurant critic, nor do I pretend to be one. But I do enjoy food.

Join the discussion below, or Read more at The News-Sun.

Wolfhound668

United States

#1 Feb 14, 2007
Funny, I visited the same restaurant and had a completely different experience. All the food we had was over-priced and either over or underdone. As for "American comfort foods with an Irish twist" according to the employees that were hovering over us when we were trying to eat this restaurant is owned and operated by a Polish family that have no idea what Irish cooking is. When the owner found out that I'm Irish and that my wife and I love Irish cooking he was practically begging me for hints at cooking Irish. Complete hogwash. As I posted in a review on my blog after visiting the resturant "giving a place an Irish name, painting shamrocks on the floor, and hanging Guinness signs on the wall does not an Irish restaurant make".
LMM1019

North Chicago, IL

#2 Feb 27, 2007
My mom and I went shortly after it opened and I have to say, the food was wonderful and well prepared (especially the Potato soup...Mmmmmm). As far as being overpriced, I disagree! I think it was very comparable to John's Garage. I thought it was wonderful food!!! Regardless of whether or not the owners are Irish...absolutely wonderful in my opinion!
Vernon Hills

United States

#3 Mar 20, 2007