Posted in the Valdese Forum

First Prev
of 3
Next Last
wondering

Angier, NC

#1 Jun 23, 2012
anyone ever worked there?

The temp place in valdese had my brother go in for " Orientation" this past week along with 10 others and the orientation lasted 5 hours WITH NO PAY ?

Just sitting in a room for five hours doing paperwork.

I didn't believe him at first then i talked to a friend that went through the same thing , five hour orientation with no pay .

Then at the end of the 5 hours of paperwork the temp place and Magna officials came in and pick a few people from the group to go to work .

Im no rocket scientist But , there are not that many people that work for magna "per-shift" excluding the bosses and supervisors , for the size of that huge facility so if they are bringing in groups of people like this regularly , the turn over rate must be high im thinking .

Anyone ever worked there as a temp? what was the experience ?

And is it even Legal to hold " Orientations " for 5 hours with 0 pay ?
That Guy

Duncan, SC

#2 Jun 23, 2012
If you're desperate; I say "go for it". If not, I would HIGHLY recommend looking elsewhere. I worked for Magna (then it was Meridian Automotive Systems) from 2005 to 2009. I was a temp for almost 2 YEARS before I was hired on full-time. I done excellent work but they "supposedly" had a freeze on hiring. I learned every job I could so I could be more of an asset (i was trained on atleast 90% of the jobs in there). I almost always volunteered to work overtime, weekends, and holidays. In the end, I got laid off because of seniority. While people who had been there a little longer, but were lazy and useless, got to stay. Not long after I was laid off, Magna bough Meridian out. Magna had this rule that absolutely NO ONE laid off by Meridian would be eligible to be re-hired. Believe me, I tried.