'Life estate' doesn't prevent selling a house

There are 20 comments on the Newsday story from Jan 27, 2008, titled 'Life estate' doesn't prevent selling a house. In it, Newsday reports that:

In your Dec. 9 column, a reader asked if he should sell his mom's home to pay for her assisted living expenses.

Join the discussion below, or Read more at Newsday.

First Prev
of 3
Next Last
Michael Garey

Lakeland, FL

#1 Mar 13, 2008
My Sister and I own a property and our step mother received life estate, and has fallen behind again, but this time for $5,000.00, and they want to foreclose. She has not followed through with the requirements of the life estate. Is there anything we can do to have her life estate canceled? We have a mortgage of our own, and do not want to lose our property, because she doesn't run tis well.

P.S
She ran through $300.000.00 in 2 years in cash?
Catherine

Chicago, IL

#2 Mar 27, 2008
I am going through this myself; I am not an expert or professional. We have retained an attorney to petition the court to lift the life estate because the terms of the life estate have not been met.
neil

Mahwah, NJ

#3 Apr 18, 2008
but what if the house is already divided 3 ways, 1/3 brother, 1/3 sister, 1/3 mother (life tenant with 2nd sister as remainder)? and brother and 1st sister do not want to sell. Can the mother sell her 1/3 with the life estate deed to the 1st sister and brother? How would that affect the 2nd sister's remainder? And now the mother went into assisted living and deosn't even live there.

thanks !
Artman

Vista, CA

#4 Apr 20, 2008
Is there a form in the State of New York, for a holder of lifetime estate to release their interest in the estate?
My step-father can no longer live in the home and wants to release his "ownership/obligations " and the children then want to sell the home.
We keep hearing different answers and need some direction.
Thank You
Angelglez

AOL

#5 May 6, 2008