Kent

Bridgeport, CT

#1 May 3, 2014
Stratford elder law attorney Kurt Ahlberg has announced his candidacy for the Republican nomination for judge of probate in this year’s election.

The current probate court judge, F. Paul Kurmay, will reach the state mandated retirement age later this year.

“I grew up in Stratford, am a graduate of the Stratford public school system, married my high school sweetheart and, after law school, joined my dad’s law firm and raised my own family here,” Ahlberg stated.“My family and I have been giving back to our town and its people for many years, and serving as probate court judge is another opportunity for me to continue doing so.”

Ahlberg has been active in Stratford civic and youth athletic activities for many years, including the Stratford Jaycees, Stratford Little League and Sterling House basketball. Ahlberg also served as an assistant town attorney.

Ahlberg has been an elder law attorney for over 35 years

In this General Assembly session that has approved little more than a baker's dozen of bills, a majority of House and Senate members have nonetheless managed to take action that will hit taxpayers for years and years to come.
With the Senate voting favorably on Tuesday, the Legislature approved the nominations of 16 Superior Court judges, four of whom are in their 60's and half of those are former state senators. The new judges can retire at the mandatory age of 70 with annual pensions of two-thirds of their $154,559 salaries.
They will get $103,000 for life. With annual cost of living adjustments. For working as little as four years.
The average taxpayer is unlikely to get a gold watch these days, even after 20 years of service with a private employer, but these politically connected judges will get golden robes for a fraction of the work.