Two city council races on ballot in Grantville

Sep 5, 2009 Full story: The Times-Herald 99

Two city council races will be on the elections ballot in Grantville on Nov. 3. On Friday, the last day of municipal elections qualifying, Councilman Nick Sasso qualified for his seat, and Marion Cieslik qualified to challenge Councilwoman Rochelle Jabaley.

Full Story
First Prev
of 5
Next Last
Judge Not

Smyrna, GA

#81 Nov 11, 2009
Grantville Diego wrote:
<quoted text>
I have no knowledge to back up or disagree with your assertion. But I do disagree with your next comment. Your desire to exclude any businessperson because one might take advantage of insider knowledge penalizes the city from good governess. Businesspeople create jobs, provide services, and help the community grow positively. All are capable of taking advantage of power. A non businessperson could inappropriately use there power to harass those they don't like or use city workers for their pet projects. This city is a business. Putting non-businesspeople in charge because they are nice or well known , I believe, is a big part of our current problem. Where do you get the skills to lead a city government? It is very hard in a small town to draw the people you need. We need to carefully access the individual and vote accordingly.
You are correct about business people and I probably shouldn't make inferences about all of them. You are also correct about having a small pool to draw from to get our leaders. I would add that within that small pool some will not throw their hat in because of the intense scrutiny and petty bickering. Anyway, we'll just have to see how things progress or not progress.

Since: Aug 09

Newnan, GA

#82 Nov 11, 2009
Helen wrote:
"The city is clearly at a high water mark for income received". You've got to be kidding me!