The Debate over Driver's Education

The Debate over Driver's Education

There are 143 comments on the WZZM Grand Rapids story from Aug 12, 2007, titled The Debate over Driver's Education. In it, WZZM Grand Rapids reports that:

The crash that killed both Sam Meengs and Karen Linder, as well as several other similar accidents involving teenagers, has sparked a debate on wzzm13.com. It centers around drivers' education.

Join the discussion below, or Read more at WZZM Grand Rapids.

First Prev
of 8
Next Last
Don Bergman

Hudsonville, MI

#1 Aug 12, 2007
My name is Don Bergman, I'm 18 years old. Even though I am a teenage driver, I do believe that we get enough instruction and supervision when we are in Driver's Training.
STATISTICS say that 25% of car crashes in Michigan involve a teenage driver. I'm not trying to prove that wrong, but me, myself am NOT a statistic concerning that. Yes, I've came close to getting into a car accident(s), but being a smart driver had something to do with me not getting into the car accident(s). I believe that teenager get enough instruction, but made stupid decisions whilst they drive.
Bob

Littleton, CO

#2 Aug 12, 2007
It's not a matter of how long people are instructed, it's that they don't care enough while driving. Many become distracted with things like phones and friends, which is normally taught in drivers education and just common sense, but it comes down to the parents in my opinion. I'd be curious how many teenagers driving DON'T have a cell phone, or how often they actually drive alone.
2 sides to the story

Roy, UT

#3 Aug 13, 2007
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) publication reported, "In 1997, older people made up 9 percent of the resident population but accounted for 14 percent of all traffic fatalities and 17 percent of all pedestrian fatalities."