Comments
61 - 80 of 96 Comments Last updated Nov 13, 2013
Becky Morrow

Waterloo, IL

#61 Sep 9, 2012
sheba sue wrote:
<quoted text>
I personally think mr flowers is a jackass!! Yes I used the term jackass because that is what he called his student last week! Last time I checked you don't say stuff like that to your students!
Students may be called worse in college. Jackass simply sounds harsh. The definition means stupid or foolish person. If he called this student stupid would you still be on topix complaining? The other definition of course is a male donkey, but I believer Mr. Flowers was going for stupid or foolish. It just sounds so dramatic when we say "you jackass".
I had Mr. Flowers quite some time ago. I graduated in 1991. He was tough, but he inspired me to try harder in math. I for some crazy reason decided to take finite math and trigonometry together my senior year. I never felt like I needed to study for math or complete my homework assignments on a regular basis for some reason and it prevented me from reaching my potential. Needless to say, I studied in Mr. Flower's classes and did well. I went on to get my Bachelor's degree from SIUE in Accounting and graduated with honors. I later earned my MBA. Anheuser Busch hired me as an accountant right out of college. My spring board to success was indeed Mr. Flowers. I've always wanted to go back and thank him. I didn't know how he would perceive it, so I never did. He is a very good teacher, so please don't say that he isn't.
Haha

Waterloo, IL

#62 Sep 12, 2012
Concerned taxpayer wrote: