Lost

Oakvale, WV

|
Report Abuse
|
Judge it!
|
Jul 25, 2009

Could someone please inform me of what the signs in town refer to as 100 years of progress? I'm a former resident of the Princeton area and was truly amazed when I went back a few weeks ago to see family and those signs have been on my mind ever since. I remember growing up as most of you do and having things to go do with my friends. Those things never involved drugs, etc. and from what I hear now drugs are rampant in the area among the youth, which is troubling. I had told my wife about the days in high school of going cruising in town with friends and was going to show her. Well, what I found was a bit of that progress they are so proud of: it was Saturday night and no one was in town. I know they had tried fighting it for 40 years so now the city can be proud of the fact they ran off kids from what was for the most part a harmless activity that at least brought some life to downtown. Curiously, no businesses were open downtown, so "cleansing" the crusier problem didn't bring any business to the area except for a bar on Mercer Street. Also, I learned the town stopped the annual 4th of July celebration of fireworks a year ago because they "didn't want that kind of crowd." I can remember as a kid what a big deal watching the fireworks were and as a teen getting a group of friends together and hanging out watching them. Then I heard they had stopped Princeton Summerfest, which also had been a big gathering to get people out with their families. Other pieces of that progress I suppose? In these tough times, I would argue the turnouts would probably be even better since people are staying closer to home rather than going out of town for a bit of leisure. I'm really lost about these things. The only progress I really found in the Princeton area was outside the city limits. The areas of growth have been around the Interstate area as well as Green Valley and 460 itself. I was startled by the differences in Pri