Candidate Statement: Norma Torres, 61st Assembly District

Full story: Inland Valley Daily Bulletin

My name is Norma Torres and I am the current mayor of Pomona. I also work as a bilingual 9-1-1 dispatcher and instructor for the Los Angeles Police Department.

Comments

Showing posts 1 - 20 of23
< prev page
|
Go to last page| Jump to page:
Emily

Upland, CA

|
Report Abuse
|
Judge it!
|
Oct 15, 2008

Norma, did not take a stance on the traffic checks in Pomona as mayor. councilwoman Carrissa should be running for this district seat. The traffic stops do impede the flow of traffic and do frighten the undocumented in out town. Carrissa for assembly woman!!!!
Pomona Supporter

Rancho Cucamonga, CA

|
Report Abuse
|
Judge it!
|
Oct 15, 2008

Yes they do frighten the illegals and unlicensed drivers. Keep up the good work Pomona. Torres also finally realized she can't side with the illegals so she got smart. The rest of the city will get smart too. The illegals and Habla lost their battle and now are gone. Poof. 140 impounds in 6 hours. Obviously a problem in Pomona. Keep it up !!

George Hunter for Mayor !
spoof

Inglewood, CA

|
Report Abuse
|
Judge it!
|
Oct 16, 2008

Normas' run as Mayor has been dismal at best. Gangs are rampant, police are stiffled in their efforts to control these problems due to the sanchuary city policies imposd by you and the council. As for the implimentaion of bilingual 911 operators, why not get these people who do not wish to assimilate to enroll in a FREE class in ENGLISH. The coalitions you formed resulted mostly in wasted tax dollars to projects that had to be re-done(more tax dollars) or failed comletely. I hope people will really look at your accomplishments and not put you in a position where the whole State will be screwed!
spoof

Inglewood, CA

|
Report Abuse
|
Judge it!
|
Oct 16, 2008

Norma, Why do your children attend school in Claremont? Isn't Pomona good enough?
Zeke from Cabin Creek

Los Angeles, CA

|
Report Abuse
|
Judge it!