Review: Ventilation Purification
STAY AWAY

Glenshaw, PA

#103 Nov 22, 2011
This is nothing but false advertising.$39.95 "WHOLE HOUSE SPECIAL" really costs well over $200. They are nothing but predators who advertise what seems too good to be true ... it is.
Bate and Switch

Cleveland, OH

#105 Jan 18, 2012
Ventilation Purification specializes in Bate & Switch. I purchased a Groupon for $59 (regular price $150 for the following: Ventilation Purification's powerful truck-mounted vacuums can suck pollutants from a home’s entire network of vents, ducts, and returns. During a visit, techs with decades of experience use state-of-the-art high-efficiency particulate air systems to filter out mold, pollen, lint, and dust mites from indoor air, helping soothe symptoms of allergies and asthma. Groupon customers will also receive a complimentary furnace inspection during their visit. They took all the vents off then disassembled my furnance and ONLY THEN told me that it would cost an ADDITIONAL $269 to clean ALL the vents. I told them to get the hell out of my house. The guy then tells me he can not leave my house until he talks to his Ventilation Purification boss! I then had to spend time putting everything back together.
Mike Anthony sux

Pittsburgh, PA

#106 Jan 18, 2012
Bate and Switch wrote:
Ventilation Purification specializes in Bate & Switch. I purchased a Groupon for $59 (regular price $150 for the following: Ventilation Purification's powerful truck-mounted vacuums can suck pollutants from a home’s entire network of vents, ducts, and returns. During a visit, techs with decades of experience use state-of-the-art high-efficiency particulate air systems to filter out mold, pollen, lint, and dust mites from indoor air, helping soothe symptoms of allergies and asthma. Groupon customers will also receive a complimentary furnace inspection during their visit. They took all the vents off then disassembled my furnance and ONLY THEN told me that it would cost an ADDITIONAL $269 to clean ALL the vents. I told them to get the hell out of my house. The guy then tells me he can not leave my house until he talks to his Ventilation Purification boss! I then had to spend time putting everything back together.
Don't have a "Castle Law" in Ohio? What a pity!
Owner

Braddock, PA

#107 Jan 19, 2012
STAY AWAY wrote:
This is nothing but false advertising.$39.95 "WHOLE HOUSE SPECIAL" really costs well over $200. They are nothing but predators who advertise what seems too good to be true ... it is.
You were explianed what your coupon included when you booked your appointment as well as that the tech would look over your system when they get there with you to make reconmendations on cleaning out your entire system properly. It was up to you on what amount of work you wanted to have done, weather or not to have all the techs recomendations done, some of them, or just having the coupon done. Not only was this told to you on the phone; it was also go over with you when the techs came out before any work was done. That's why we had you sign a work order with exactly what YOU wanted before we started the work. Another thing. 200 dollors to clean out the coupon work plus all your mains (all duct work), your furnace, blower motor cleaning, and sanitizing your whole system is hundreds of dollors less than you could of gotten that work done by any other air duct cleaning company!
Owner

Braddock, PA

#108 Jan 19, 2012
Bate and Switch wrote:
Ventilation Purification specializes in Bate & Switch. I purchased a Groupon for $59 (regular price $150 for the following: Ventilation Purification's powerful truck-mounted vacuums can suck pollutants from a home’s entire network of vents, ducts, and returns. During a visit, techs with decades of experience use state-of-the-art high-efficiency particulate air systems to filter out mold, pollen, lint, and dust mites from indoor air, helping soothe symptoms of allergies and asthma. Groupon customers will also receive a complimentary furnace inspection during their visit. They took all the vents off then disassembled my furnance and ONLY THEN told me that it would cost an ADDITIONAL $269 to clean ALL the vents. I told them to get the hell out of my house. The guy then tells me he can not leave my house until he talks to his Ventilation Purification boss! I then had to spend time putting everything back together.
That's a complete lie! The tech made recomendations for additional services that we offer. Such as cleaning your furnace that we did check for free, cleaning your blower motor, sanitizing the system and cleaning out your supply main truck line, which were explained to you that the were recomendations and they were optional. You also chose to not have the techs put the vents back on. They did offer to do so.
Owner

Braddock, PA

#109 Jan 19, 2012
karma wrote:
The owners of this company have lost their house to sherriffs sale for failure to pay. Matt should have stayed off the drugs and possibly would still have a life. Dishonesty ALWAYS catches up with you.
This is a complete lie! Your are someone that no longer works here because you are dishonest. You have not worked in for a long time now. It's time you get a life move on and stop living threw my life. It's really sad that you have nothing better to do than slander my name and worry about what I'm doing. Worry about your self, cause I'm not and I imagaine no one else is worried about you!
a little too late

Norwalk, OH

#110 Jan 20, 2012
DO YOUR HOMEWORK wrote:
Here's what these scam artists do:
They get in your home on a $39.95 'whole house' special coupon. Got a foot in the door. Good.
They go over your system with you because "every system is different".
They (Matt or one of his strung-out little followers) will then tell you that YOUR SYSTEM requires a lot more work and proceed to take you for $800.00 or so, ELDERLY INCLUDED. They DO NOT tell you that most systems DO have more than ONE MAIN DUCT and that they are NOT INCLUDED in the coupon price. They DO NOT tell you that if you are not going to pay for the 'additional services' they offer, your time AND MONEY has been wasted because the dirt will just be blown back in by the blower WHICH IS ALSO NOT INCLUDED ON THE COUPON. Then there's the dryer vent. Same story. Need that done or blah, blah, blah....see where I'm going?
They are shabby. They run the OHIO office out of the 1952 Painter's Run Road office.
So Ohio beware too.
There's a REASON these rats don't want you to know where they are located. Matt was recently sued and ordered to pay back a customer. The truth prevailed and, again, Matt Milton, Owner, was ORDERED to give a full refund to this unsuspecting guy he had swindled.
Do your homework people. Call someone else.
Good for you there strung out little follower --- ripped my house off.
CMG

Pittsburgh, PA

#111 Feb 13, 2012
This company is the WORST I have ever seen, pure SCAM artists. They tried to up-sell me to the tune of $500++. I told them then and there that there was no way they were scamming me like that. We ended up settling on a few services for around $200 and they did a HORRIBLE job. They came in asking for drinks, use of the restroom, cell phone chargers, etc like this was their own home. These idiots had to be constantly monitored, I felt like it was some scam that the one always had something to talk about while the other one was sent off out of sight somewhere throughout the house with no supervision. Then I caught them taking vent covers off, not cleaning the vent and putting the cover back on. When confronted they said, "Oh I must have missed that one" These fools will never be back in my house and hopefully go out of business. Their professionalism was a joke!
Mike S

Pittsburgh, PA

#112 Mar 22, 2012
I strongly believe the techs and the owner himself are all strung out on something! The way they spoke to my wife when they came into our home, telling us it would be another $300 to get all our vents done. Any moron can run a company these days I guess. I kicked them out, and sent them packing in their crappy van. Thanks for the mess you left behind, do not waste your time with these ones.
karma

Beaver, PA

#113 Mar 25, 2012
Owner wrote:
<quoted text>
This is a complete lie! Your are someone that no longer works here because you are dishonest. You have not worked in for a long time now. It's time you get a life move on and stop living threw my life. It's really sad that you have nothing better to do than slander my name and worry about what I'm doing. Worry about your self, cause I'm not and I imagaine no one else is worried about you!
Former nieghbor, not an employee. Looks as though your business life is in as much trouble as your personal life
Happy Home

Brownsville, PA

#114 Mar 27, 2012
Every one complains about the coupon BUT the coupon is very specific. it is designed to make the rest of the cleaning affordable! When it says "WHOLE HOUSE SPECIAL" it means that you all your vents and returns and your main duct for $39.95 (which is an awesome price) so that if you need any of your other vents cleaned you already saved a bunch of money so that you can get more than you vents and returns cleaned without spending a fortune. THANK YOU VENTILATION PURIFICATION!!!!
THE WORST

West Mifflin, PA

#115 Mar 29, 2012
First off, these punks showed up 2 hrs late!! Made me miss another appt. Then after they walked in my front door- 1 of them just uses my bathroom without even asking!! They tried telling me I needed a new furnace and that it was old ( it's only 3 yrs old). He wouldn't stop bugging me about it. I refused! They were so unprofessional...and made me very nervous. I called my husband on the phone and told him everything they were doing- he was very upset. They were only suppose to clean my vents - not try and sell me a bunch of over priced stuff. They put my vent covers on crooked and stripped all the screws, ruined my walls, and got dirt/dust everywhere! STAY AS FAR AWAY FROM THEM AS YOU CAN!!!!!!! They look like they just got out of prison!
Con Men

West Mifflin, PA

#116 Mar 29, 2012
Shut this crappy business down!!!!
Horrible

Pittsburgh, PA

#117 Apr 25, 2012
Forget trying to deal with the boss of this company!!!!!!!! He's as dumb as the punks that work for him!
James

United States

#118 Apr 30, 2012
Funny how nobody mentioned Soot Sealer. This past saturday, 2 fellas from this company showed up at my 84 year old mothers house by appointment ($69.00 Amazon.com Voucher). I was there to greet them. After inspecting and vacuuming the air ducts with a wet-dry hose with no attachments, they said the ducts cannot be cleaned properly because of soot buildup and that for an additional $475.00 bucks (senior discount) they can spray a soot sealer inside all the air ducts plus the main duct at the furnace and clean out the blower and return duct. In theory,the soot sealer bonds the dirt and soot to the duct work with a polymer instead of removing it.

We agreed on the service. They worked over an hour,we paid them and they left. The next day my brother came by with his mini camcorder and recorded inside the upstairs air ducts first. What a mess. Loose dust and dirt everywhere inside and the only place we noticed a sprayed and shiny looking area was just inside the registers(vents) throughout the house. I guess you can add us to the scammed list. The owner is welcome to come by the Penn Hills home and see the work for himself. Just call ahead.
so sorry

Akron, OH

#119 May 19, 2012
I'm so sorry I didn't read these reviews BEFORE I called this company! I saw the coupon and was stupid enough to call a company that 1)I have never heard of; 2) not a member of the BBB; 3) not even listed in the phone book; and 4)not recommended by someone I know. I have no complaints about the wording of the coupon and what was covered....BUT it did end up costing me a fortune! I have $600 missing and my grandson (12-y-o)is missing his savings money which was kept in a wallet in a drawer of my dresser. This just happened 4 days ago, so is a recent happening. I hate to think this but I believe they took off with $700 dollars of my money. The money was there before they arrived, noone else was in my home other than myself the remainder of the day and when I looked for the money to deposit it in the bank it was missing. Not accusing but do believe they took it. I am reporting them to our police dept. and the Attorney General. I may not get my money back but at least I know I have done what I can to protect and warn other trusting people.
switch

Newark, NJ

#120 Jul 21, 2012
Just so everyone knows ventilation purification now goes by the name pure ventilation. Ads still in the clipper magazine, didn't even change the picture from their old ads. Can see the old company logo and name on the vans in the pic. Stay away from pure ventilation unless you like being robbed.
Jay

Bethel Park, PA

#121 Jul 24, 2012
Not happy with service. The tecs were nice, but not as professional as I would have thought. Uniforms were only a t shirt. Did not wipe feet to come in house, tracked dirt in house. No foot covers when working in house. One guy was using the vac in the vents while other was smoking and on cell phone outside. Kept my eyes on the entire time.
Any company that does service in my house were in uniform, not smoking, and had a clue
They were 3 1/2 hours late. I asked the guy if the job before them was hard, he said "You are the first one, the truck was being serviced", So, that is a 3 1/2 hour wait?
I had them only clean 3/4 of my vents,no returns, then said that was it, had them leave.
Had a coupon, but to get the entire "correct" service, it was going to cost 300+ more!
Will go with another company next time.
Amit

Marietta, OH

#122 Aug 28, 2012
Unfortunately , I got scammed too. Out $450. I should have googled before I bought the living social deal. Anyway, never again
Owner

Bethel Park, PA

#123 Aug 29, 2012
You didn't get scammed. You were told what was included with your living social coupon when you bought it as well as when you booked your appointment. You were also told by your tech what was included with the coupon when they arrived for your appointment. You decided to have additional work done that was outside of what your coupon included that day by signing off on your work order giving the tech permission to do the extra work that was not included with your coupon you purchased that you decided to have done. Also on your coupon voucher it was written what all was included with the coupon you purchased and what other surcharges that applied for other work that could need to be done which was also 100% entirely up to you to decide what else if anything outside the coupon to be done. Everything was gone over with you before any work outside your coupon was even started and a work order to do what YOU ask the techs to do was also signed by YOU to do the additional work outside the coupon before the work was started also. If you have any question about your bill or anything else you should call my office and ask for me before jumping on some website stating things that are just not true. You have buyers remorse, nothing else.

Tell me when this thread is updated:

Subscribe Now Add to my Tracker

Add your comments below

Characters left: 4000

Please note by submitting this form you acknowledge that you have read the Terms of Service and the comment you are posting is in compliance with such terms. Be polite. Inappropriate posts may be removed by the moderator. Send us your feedback.

Pittsburgh Discussions

Title Updated Last By Comments
Man questioned in deadly Wilkinsburg ambush now... 22 hr Ho J Pimpson 7
Review: I Love Kickboxing - Pittsburgh (Nov '13) Sat iTakeBigDumps 105
News More than 100 people pledge to end domestic vio... Sat One sided laws 2
LGBT community is a real embarrassment Fri Salster 1
Hey Fri mister d 3
Fox & Hound CLOSED for GOOD Jun 22 CLOSED 1
wendy bell Jun 22 F Lee Cochran 29
More from around the web

Personal Finance

Pittsburgh Mortgages