New Bledsoe County Jail

Posted in the Pikeville Forum

First Prev
of 2
Next Last
A View from the Bluff

United States

#1 Mar 13, 2009
I have noticed a couple of folks discussing the proposal for the new jail. It seems that most people agree that a new jail is needed, but some disagree on the size. First, I can say for a fact that we have to have a new jail. I worked as a Deputy under Sheriff George Morgan, and I have seen the jail inside and out. It would make a great museum but not a jail. For to long county commissioners threw good money after bad by trying to fix the jail. It can't be fixed folks. I would personally like to see at least a 75 - 100 bed facility. Obtain certification for holding state as well as federal prisoners in transport. The jail needs to have the capacity to hold women and men. We also need a Sheriff with business sense to manage the jail. It must be treated as business as much as possible. In times like these, the Sheriff must watch every dollar and also look for every available source of funding.
TOWN HOUSE GIRL

AOL

#2 Mar 13, 2009
if they would guit working on that road in pikeville and spent a little money on helping build a new jail that not right we donot need that road fix they need to spent that money on a new jail or gat them people out office and put someone in who cares about the jail we donot need a road we need a jail
river rambler

Dunlap, TN

#3 Mar 14, 2009